Minutes of the Special Meeting of

Friday, November 6, 2009



A special conference call meeting of the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University was held on Friday, November 6, 2009, in the Board of Trustees Meeting Room, 602 Cohodas Administrative Center, Northern Michigan University, Marquette, Michigan.  The meeting was convened at 3:04 p.m. by

Chair Douglas Roberts.


Trustees present included:     


Dr. Douglas B. Roberts, Chair (via telephone)                

Mr. Brian D. Cloyd (via telephone)

Mr. Jon G. LaSalle                       

Mr. Gilbert L. Ziegler (via telephone)

      Dr. L. Garnet Lewis (via telephone)        

Dr. Leslie E. Wong, ex officio


Trustees absent included:

      Mr. Stephen F. Adamini

      Mr. Larry C. Inman

Dr. H. Sook Wilkinson


Senior staff and counsel present included:


      Ms. Catherine L. Dehlin, General Counsel

Mr. R. Gavin Leach, Vice President for Finance and Administration and Treasurer of the Board

      Ms. Theresa M. Nease, Executive Assistant to the President and Secretary of the Board

      Dr. Terrance L. Seethoff, Chief Negotiator



NMU-AAUP Union Negotiated Agreement


President Wong reviewed the proposed language for the negotiated agreement between Northern Michigan University and the American Association of University Professors-NMU Chapter.  Staff responded to questions and comments from the Trustees.


The following action was taken:


It was moved by Trustee Cloyd and seconded by Trustee LaSalle that the negotiated agreement between Northern Michigan University and the American Association of University Professors Northern Michigan University Chapter, which was ratified on November 4, 2009, covering the period from July 1, 2009 through June 30, 2012, be approved and that Dr. Susan Koch, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, be authorized to sign the contract on behalf of the Board of Trustees.


The motion was approved with four ( 4 ) for the motion and one  ( 1 ) against.



President Wong thanked the members of the negotiating team.  Chair Roberts commended President Wong and the staff for their work on this agreement.





Chair Roberts adjourned the meeting at 3:15 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,




Theresa M. Nease, Secretary of the Board