Thursday-Friday, December 9-10, 2010



Thursday, December 9, 2010


  10:30 a.m.     Ad Hoc Strategic Planning Committee.  Sixth Floor, 604 Cohodas.


  1:00 p.m.       Academic Affairs Committee Meeting.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.


  2:00 p.m.       Finance Committee MeetingBoard of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



Friday, December 10, 2010



   9:00 a.m.      Formal Session.  Board of Trustees Meeting Room, 602 Cohodas.



   9:00 a.m.      1.         Individual Requests to Address the Board Ms. Theresa Nease



   9:05 a.m.      2.         Moment of Silence


a.      NMU Student Mr. William Bernard

b.      NMU Staff Member Mr. Gavin Leach



   9:10 a.m.      3.         FOCUS DISCUSSION Health Care Policy and a Healthy Campus

                                    Mr. Gavin Leach



10:40 a.m.       Formal Session Recessed.


10:50 a.m.       Formal Session Reconvened.  Business Session.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



 10:50 a.m.      4.         Commencement Speakers:

                                    Introduction of Graduating Student Commencement Speaker

                                    Mr. William Bernard

                                                Mr. Jordan Graves

                                                Media Production and New Technology Major


                                    Announcement of Honorary Degree Recipient President Les Wong

                        Dr. Daniel Mazzuchi, Retired Physician, will receive the Honorary Degree, Doctor of Humane Letters.  He will also be the December 2010 Commencement Speaker.



  10:55 p.m.    5.         ASNMU Report Ms. Lucia Lopez



  11:00 a.m.     6.         President's Report President Les Wong



   11:15 a.m.    7.         Committee Reports:

                                         a.    Academic Affairs Mr. Jon LaSalle

                                         b.    Finance Mr. Stephen Adamini

                                         c.     Executive Committee Mr. Brian Cloyd

                                         d.    Ad Hoc Strategic Planning Committee Mr. Brian Cloyd



  11:50 a.m.     8.         Appointments of Trustees to Standing Committees for Calendar Year 2011

                                    (See Formal Recommendations F1 and F2) Chair-elect Brian Cloyd




                                    Announcement of 2011 Ex Officio Appointments to the NMU Foundation Board of Trustees Chair-elect Brian Cloyd



   11:55 a.m.    9.         Action on Formal Recommendations Chair Douglas Roberts



   12:00 p.m.    10.      Presentation to Outgoing Chair Roberts Chair-elect Brian Cloyd



   12:05 p.m.    11.      2000 Time Capsule Opening (includes past trustees from 2000)



   12:25 p.m.   12.       Announcement of Informal Session to be held in conjunction with the
Thursday - Friday, February 17-18, 2011, Meeting of the Board

                                    President Les Wong



   12:30 p.m.    Formal Session Adjourned.




* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *



Academic Affairs                                  Finance                                   Executive

Jon G. LaSalle, Chair                  Stephen F. Adamini, Chair         Brian D. Cloyd, Chair

Brian D. Cloyd                            Brian D. Cloyd                           Stephen F. Adamini

L. Garnet Lewis                          Larry C. Inman                           Jon G. LaSalle

H. Sook Wilkinson                      Gilbert L. Ziegler                        Douglas B. Roberts, ex officio

Douglas B. Roberts, ex officio   Douglas B. Roberts, ex officio    Leslie E. Wong, ex officio

Leslie E. Wong, ex officio          Leslie E. Wong, ex officio 



           Ad Hoc Strategic Planning                                                    

Brian D. Cloyd, Chair                             R. Gavin Leach                                                                      

L. Garnet Lewis                                      Lucia Lopez                                                                            

Michael J. Andary                                   Cynthia A. Prosen                                                                              

Howard Cohodas                                                Douglas B. Roberts, ex officio                                 

Kathleen G. Godec                                 Terrance L. Seethoff                          

Brent M. Graves                                      Leslie E. Wong, ex officio

Martha B. Haynes