Thursday-Friday, September 23-24, 2010




Thursday, September 23, 2010


10:00 a.m.       Strategic Planning Committee Meeting. Sixth Floor Conference Room, 604 Cohodas.



  1:00 p.m.       Recruitment and Retention Committee.  Board of Trustees Meeting Room, 602 Cohodas.



  2:00 p.m.       Academic Affairs Committee Meeting.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



  3:00 p.m.       Finance Committee MeetingBoard of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



Friday, September 24, 2010


  9:30 a.m.       Formal Session Called to Order.  Board of Trustees Meeting Room, 602 Cohodas.



   9:30 a.m.      1.         Individual Requests to Address the Board – Ms. Theresa Nease


   9:35 a.m.      2.         Moment of Silence for NMU Students – Mr. William Bernard


   9:40 a.m.      3.         FOCUS DISCUSSION:  Building a Smarter Campus

                                    Mr. Gavin Leach, Vice President for Finance and Administration

Dr. Terrance Seethoff, Assoc. Provost and Dean of Grad. Studies & Research

Ms. Felecia Flack, Director of Information Services

Ms. Gerri Daniels, Director of Admissions


10:50 a.m.       Formal Session Recessed.


11:00 a.m.       Formal Session Reconvened.  Business Session.  Board of Trustees Meeting Room, 602 Cohodas.



 11:00 a.m.      4.         Committee Reports:

a.      Executive – Mr. Brian Cloyd

b.      Academic Affairs – Mr. Jon LaSalle

c.       Finance – Mr. Stephen Adamini

d.      Recruitment and Retention – Mr. Gilbert Ziegler

e.       Strategic Planning – Mr. Brian Cloyd

f.       Ad Hoc Nominating – Mr. Stephen Adamini

                                          (SPECIAL ACTION ITEM – Election of Officers)


 11:25 a.m.      5.         President’s Report – President Les Wong



 11:35 a.m.      6.         ASNMU Report – Lucia Lopez



 11:40 a.m.     7.          Action on Formal Recommendations – Acting Chair Cloyd



 11:45 a.m.     8.          Announcement of Informal/Closed Session to be held in Conjunction with the Thursday-Friday, December 9-10, 2011, Meeting of the Board –

                                    President Wong



 11:50 a.m.      Formal Session Adjourned.



*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *




Academic Affairs                                  Finance                                   Executive

Jon G. LaSalle, Chair                  Stephen F. Adamini, Chair         Brian D. Cloyd, Chair

Brian D. Cloyd                            Brian D. Cloyd                           Stephen F. Adamini

L. Garnet Lewis                          Larry C. Inman                           Jon G. LaSalle

H. Sook Wilkinson                      Gilbert L. Ziegler                        Douglas B. Roberts, ex officio

Douglas B. Roberts, ex officio   Douglas B. Roberts, ex officio    Leslie E. Wong, ex officio

Leslie E. Wong, ex officio          Leslie E. Wong, ex officio 


        Ad hoc Recruitment and Retention Committee

        Gilbert L. Ziegler, Chair

        Larry C. Inman

        L. Garnet Lewis

        H. Sook Wilkinson

        Douglas B. Roberts, ex officio

        Leslie E. Wong, ex officio


           Ad Hoc Strategic Planning                                                    

Brian D. Cloyd, Chair                             R. Gavin Leach                                                                      

L. Garnet Lewis                                      Lucia Lopez                                                                            

Michael J. Andary                                   Cynthia A. Prosen                                                                              

Howard Cohodas                                                Douglas B. Roberts, ex officio                                 

Kathleen G. Godec                                 Terrance L. Seethoff                          

Brent M. Graves                                      Leslie E. Wong, ex officio

Martha B. Haynes