Board of Trustees

Ad Hoc Strategic Planning Committee

April 28, 2011


Members Present:                                         Members Absent:                                         

L. Garnet Lewis, Chair                                   Michael Andary

Jon G. LaSalle

Brian Cloyd, ex officio

Justin Brugman

Kathleen Godec                                              Guests:

Brent Graves                                                   Kaylie Anthos, Assoc. Director-Business Services   

Martha Haynes

Gavin Leach                                                   

Cynthia Prosen

Terrance Seethoff                  


The ad hoc Strategic Planning Committee meeting was called to order at 8:35 a.m.  Mr. Leach indicated that Ms. Anthos negotiated the final terms of the contract with Stamats, Inc. to eliminate the creative branding marketing phase, add and repurpose research dollars, and provide a travel ceiling.  The revised cost of the contract is $130,000 including travel.  The price of the original proposal was $164,000 plus travel.  Stamats, Inc. will honor the creative branding marketing phase if NMU decides to include this at the end of the branding study.


Ms.  Anthos reviewed the proposed timeline.  Stamats, Inc. has indicated the willingness to work around key campus dates such as NMU Board of Trustees meetings and the academic calendar.


Stamats, Inc. requested the Committee recommend a team of 7-9 individuals as a working group.  The Committee decided on the following individuals to serve in this capacity:


L. Garnet Lewis, Board of Trustees Member

Cindy Paavola, Communications and Marketing

Gerri Daniels, Admissions

Justin Brugman, ASNMU

Faculty Member

Kathy Godec, Staff

Cynthia Prosen, Community


Kaylie Anthos, Purchasing


Ms. Haynes will identify an alumnus, and Dr. Graves will consult with the AAUP.


The ad hoc Strategic Planning Committee will continue to meet in conjunction with full Board of Trustees meetings.


The meeting was adjourned at 8:53 a.m.


Respectfully submitted,



L. Garnet Lewis, Chair