Thursday-Friday, April 28-29, 2011



Thursday, April 28, 2011



  8:30 a.m.       Ad hoc Strategic Planning Committee, Sixth Floor Conference Room, 604 Cohodas.       


  1:00 p.m.       Academic Affairs Committee, Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.


  2:30 p.m.       Finance Committee, Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



Friday, April 29, 2011


  9:00 a.m.       Formal Session Called to Order.  Focus Discussion.  Board of Trustees Room,  602 Cohodas.



    9:00 a.m.     1.         Individual Requests to Address the Board – Ms. Theresa Nease



    9:05 a.m.     2.         Moment of Silence for NMU Students – Mr. William Bernard



    9:10 a.m.     3.         FOCUS DISCUSSION:   Branding


                                    Mr. Chuck Reed, Senior Vice President for Client Services

                                    Stamats, Inc.



  10:20 a.m.     Formal Session Recessed.


  10:30 a.m.     Formal Session Reconvened.  Business Session.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



  10:30 a.m.     4.         Commencement Speakers:

                        Introduction of Graduating Student Commencement Speaker – Mr. William Bernard

                        Mr. Andrew Foster, Accounting/Corporate Finance Major


                                    Announcement of Honorary Degree Recipient – President Leslie Wong

                        Dr. Mark Lovell ‘77, Professor and Director of the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center Sports Concussion Program, will receive the Honorary Degree, Doctor of Science.  He will also be the April 2011 Commencement Speaker.



  10:35 a.m.     5.         ASNMU Report - Ms. Courtney Russell and Justin Brugman



  10:40 a.m.     6.         President’s Report – President Wong



  11:00 a.m.     7.         Committee Reports:

                                         a.    Academic Affairs – Dr. L. Garnet Lewis

                                         b.    Finance – Mr. Stephen Adamini

                                         c.    Executive – Mr. Jon G. LaSalle

                                         d.    ad hoc Strategic Planning – Dr. L. Garnet Lewis



  11:20 a.m.     8.         Appointment of Subcommittees – Chair Brian Cloyd



  11:25 a.m.     9.         Appointment of ex officio Members of the NMU Foundation Board – Chair Brian Cloyd



  11.30 a.m.   10.         Board Meeting Schedule Revision – Chair Brian Cloyd



  11:35 a.m.   11.         Action on Formal Recommendations – Chair Brian Cloyd



  11:40 a.m.   12.         Announcement of Informal/Closed Session to be held in connection with the July Meeting of the Board – President Wong



*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  * 


Academic Affairs                                  Finance                                   Executive

L. Garnet Lewis, Chair               Stephen F. Adamini, Chair         Jon G. LaSalle , Chair

Jon G. LaSalle                             Stephen L. Gulis, Jr.                   Stephen F. Adamini

        Richard M. Popp                         Gilbert L. Ziegler                        L. Garnet Lewis

H. Sook Wilkinson                      Brian D. Cloyd, ex officio          Brian D. Cloyd, ex officio

Brian D. Cloyd, ex officio          Leslie E. Wong, ex officio          Leslie E. Wong, ex officio 

Leslie E. Wong, ex officio                                                       


        Ad Hoc Strategic Planning                                                    

L. Garnet Lewis, Chair                            Martha B. Haynes

Jon G. LaSalle                                         R. Gavin Leach                                                                      

Michael J. Andary                                   Cynthia A. Prosen                                                                   

Howard Cohodas                                    Terrance L. Seethoff                                                                                                  

Andrew Foster                                        Brian D. Cloyd, ex officio                                                    

Kathleen G. Godec                                 Leslie E. Wong, ex officio                             

Brent M. Graves