Thursday-Friday, December 15-16, 2011


Thursday, December 15, 2011


  10:30 a.m.     Faculty Works Subcommittee.  Sixth Floor, 604 Cohodas. RESCHEDULED to Friday, December 16, 2011 at 2:30 p.m.



   2:30 p.m.      Academic Affairs Committee Meeting.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



Friday, December 16, 2011


   8:30 a.m.      Finance CommitteeBoard of Trustees Meeting Room, 602 Cohodas



  10:00 a.m.     Formal Session.  Board of Trustees Meeting Room, 602 Cohodas.



 10:00 a.m.      1.         Individual Requests to Address the Board Ms. Theresa Nease



 10:05 a.m.      2.         FOCUS DISCUSSION Future Directions



11:00 a.m.       Formal Session Recessed.


11:10 a.m.       Formal Session Reconvened.  Business Session.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.


 11:10 a.m.      3.         Commencement Speakers:

                                    Introduction of Graduating Student Commencement Speaker

                                    Mr. William Bernard

                                                Ms. Lauren Fusilier 

                                                Elementary and Special Education Emotional Impairment Major


                                    Announcement of Honorary Degree Recipient President Les Wong

                        Dr. Johnnetta Cole, Director of the Smithsonian National Museum of African Art and President emeriti of Bennett College for Women and Spelman College, will receive the Honorary Degree, Doctor of Humane Letters.  She will also be the December 2011 Commencement Speaker.



  11:15 p.m.    4.         ASNMU Report Mr. Justin Brugman



  11:20 a.m.     5.         President's Report President Les Wong

                                         a.    Performance Funding



   11:30 a.m.    6.         Committee Reports:

                                         a.    Academic Affairs Dr. L. Garnet Lewis

                                         b.    Finance Mr. Stephen Adamini

                                         c.    Executive Committee Mr. Jon G. LaSalle


  11:45 a.m.     7.         Appointments of Trustees to Standing Committees for Calendar Year 2012

                                    (See Formal Recommendations F1) Chair Brian Cloyd




                                    Announcement of 2012 Ex Officio Appointments to the NMU Foundation Board of Trustees Chair Brian Cloyd



   11:50 a.m.    8.         Action on Formal Recommendations Chair Brian Cloyd



   11:55 a.m.    9.         Announcement of Informal Session to be held in conjunction with the
Thursday - Friday, February 16-17, 2012, Meeting of the Board

                                    President Les Wong



   12:00 p.m.    Formal Session Adjourned.


  2:30 p.m.     Faculty Works Subcommittee.  Sixth Floor, 604 Cohodas.


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *



Academic Affairs                                  Finance                                   Executive

L. Garnet Lewis, Chair              Stephen F. Adamini, Chair         Jon G. LaSalle , Chair

Jon G. LaSalle                             Stephen L. Gulis, Jr.                   Stephen F. Adamini

        Richard M. Popp                         Gilbert L. Ziegler                        L. Garnet Lewis

H. Sook Wilkinson                      Brian D. Cloyd, ex officio          Brian D. Cloyd, ex officio

Brian D. Cloyd, ex officio          Leslie E. Wong, ex officio          Leslie E. Wong, ex officio 

Leslie E. Wong, ex officio                                                       


        Ad Hoc Strategic Planning                                                    

L. Garnet Lewis, Chair                            Martha B. Haynes

Jon G. LaSalle                                         R. Gavin Leach                                                                      

Michael J. Andary                                   Cynthia A. Prosen                                                                   

Howard Cohodas                                    Terrance L. Seethoff                                                                                                   

Justin Brugman                                        Brian D. Cloyd, ex officio                                                    

Kathleen G. Godec                                 Leslie E. Wong, ex officio                             

Brent M. Graves                         


Faculty Work Subcommittee                   Alternative Funding Subcommittee

Richard M. Popp, Chair                           Steven L. Gulis, Jr., Chair                              

Jon G. LaSalle                                         Stephen F. Adamini

H. Sook Wilkinson                                  Gilbert L. Ziegler