Thursday-Friday, December 12-13, 2013


Thursday, December 12, 2013


   2:00 p.m.        Academic Affairs Committee Meeting.  Marquette-Nicolet. University Center.


Friday, December 13, 2013


   8:30 a.m.      Formal Session.  Marquette-Nicolet. University Center.


   8:30 a.m.       1.         Individual Requests to Address the Board – Ms. Theresa Nease


   8:35 a.m.       2.         Moment of Silence for Deceased Students – Dr. Steven Neiheisel


   8:40 a.m.       3.         Moment of Silence for Deceased Faculty Member – Dr. Paul Lang


   8:45 a.m.       4.         Moment in NMU History – Dr. Russell Magnaghi, University Historian


   8:50 a.m.        5.         Introduction of Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Services – President David Haynes


   8:55 a.m.       6.         Presidential Search Update – Chair L. Garnet Lewis


   9:00 a.m.       7.         Commencement Speakers:


 Introduction of Graduating Student Commencement Speaker –


Dr. Steven Neiheisel

Ms. Charlotte Cialek

Biochemistry Major


Announcement of Honorary Degree Recipient – President David Haynes

Mr. Ernest Telford ‘69, Retired Chairman and Consultant for the American Wholesale Insurance Group, will receive the Honorary Degree, Doctor of Business.  He will also be the December 2013 Commencement Speaker.


   9:05 a.m.       8.         ASNMU Update – Ms. Amber Lopota


   9:10 a.m.       9.         President's Report – President David Haynes


   9:15 a.m.     10.         Jabber and Media Site Live Demonstration – Mr. Eric Smith, Mr. Patrick Lakenen, and Mr. Max Graves


  10:15 a.m.      Formal Session Recessed.


  10:25 a.m.      Formal Session Reconvened.


  10:25 a.m.    11.         Tobacco Free Campus – Ms. Cindy Paavola and Dr. David Haynes


  11:25 a.m.    12.         Committee Reports:

a.    Academic Affairs – Dr. H. Sook Wilkinson

b.    Finance – Mr. Stephen F. Adamini

c.     Executive Committee – Mr. Richard M. Popp


  11:40 a.m.    13.         Appointments of Trustees to Standing Committees for Calendar Year 2014

(See Formal Recommendations F3) – Chair-elect Popp




Announcement of 2014 Ex Officio Appointments to the NMU Foundation Board of Trustees – Chair-elect Popp


  11:45 a.m.    14.         Action on Formal Recommendations – Chair Lewis


  11:50 a.m.    15.         Announcement of Informal Session to be held in conjunction with the Thursday - Friday, February 13-14, 2014, Meeting of the Board –

                                     President David Haynes


  11:55 a.m.    16.         Presentation to Outgoing Board Chair – Chair-elect Popp


  12:00 p.m.       Formal Session Adjourned.





Academic Affairs                     Finance                                         Executive

H. Sook Wilkinson, Chair        Stephen L. Gulis, Jr., Chair      Richard M. Popp, Chair

Gilbert L. Ziegler                     Stephen F. Adamini                  H. Sook Wilkinson

Thomas H. Zurbuchen              Steven M. Mitchell                  Stephen L. Gulis, Jr.

L. Garnet Lewis, ex officio      L. Garnet Lewis, ex officio      L. Garnet Lewis, ex officio

David S. Haynes, ex officio     David S. Haynes, ex officio     David S. Haynes, ex officio