Thursday, May 1, 2014



Thursday, May 1, 2014


 10:00 a.m.      Academic Affairs Committee Meeting.  Marquette/Nicolet/Cadillac. University Center.


 11:00 a.m.      Finance Committee Meeting, Marquette/Nicolet/Cadillac. University Center.


  1:00 p.m.       Formal Session Called to Order.  Marquette/Nicolet/Cadillac. University Center.


    1:00 p.m.     1.         Individual Requests to Address the Board – Ms. Theresa Nease


    1:05 p.m.     2.         Moments of Silence:


a.               In Memory of NMU Faculty Member – Dr. Paul Lang

b.               In Memory of NMU Student – Dr. Steven Neiheisel

c.                In Memory of NMU Staff Members – Mr. Gavin Leach

    1:10 p.m.     3.         Moment in NMU History – Dr. Russell Magnaghi 


    1:15 p.m.     4.         Committee Reports:

                                         a.    Academic Affairs – Dr. Thomas Zurbuchen

                                         b.    Finance – Mr. Gilbert L. Ziegler

                                         c.    Executive – Dr. L. Garnet Lewis


    1:30 p.m.     5.         Revised Appointments of Trustees to Standing Committees for Calendar
            Year 2014

                                    (See Formal Recommendations F12) – Chair Popp




                                    Announcement of Revised 2014 Ex Officio Appointments to the NMU Foundation Board of Trustees – Chair Popp


   1:35 p.m.    6.           Action on Formal Recommendations – Chair Popp


   1:40 p.m.      7.         HLC Accreditation Update


                                    Ms. Kim Barron, Director of Institutional Accreditation and Assessment

                                    Dr. Rob Winn, Associate Dean-General Education and Retention

Dr. Dale Kapla, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Programming and

Faculty Affairs

                                    Ms. Jill Compton, Director of Audit and Risk Management


   2:40 p.m.      Formal Session Recessed.


   2:50 a.m.      Formal Session Reconvened.  Business Session.  Marquette/Nicolet/Cadillac. University Center.


   2:50 p.m.      8.         Commencement Speakers:

                        Introduction of Graduating Student Commencement Speaker –

                        Dr. Steven Neiheisel

                        Ms. Courtney Anderson Brown, English, Theatre, and Entertainment Arts Major


                        Announcement of Commencement Speaker and Honorary Degree Recipients – President David Haynes

Teri List-Stoll ‘84, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer for Kraft Foods, will receive an Honorary Degree, Doctor of Business.  She will also be the May 2014 Commencement Speaker 


    2:55 p.m.     9.         ASNMU Report  -  Katerina Klawes


    3:00 p.m.     10.       President’s Report – President Haynes


    3:10 p.m.     11.       FOCUS DISCUSSION:  Broadcasting at NMU:  A Collaborative Effort


Dr. Dwight Brady, Professor of Communications and Performance Studies

Mr. Forrest Karr, Special Assistant to the President/Athletics and Director of
                        Intercollegiate Athletics and Recreational Sports

Mr. Eric Smith, Director of Broadcast and Audio Visual Services


    4:10 p.m.     12.       Announcement of Informal/Closed Session to be held in connection with the Thursday-Friday, July 17-18, 2014, Meeting of the Board – President Haynes


   4:10 p.m.      Formal Session Adjourned.


Academic Affairs                     Finance                                         Executive

Thomas H. Zurbuchen, Chair   Gilbert L. Ziegler, Chair          L. Garnet Lewis, Chair

L. Garnet Lewis                        Stephen F. Adamini                  H. Sook Wilkinson

Steven M. Mitchell                  Scott L. Holman                       Thomas H. Zurbuchen

Richard M. Popp, ex officio     Richard M. Popp, ex officio     Richard M. Popp, ex officio

David S. Hayne, ex officio       David S. Haynes, ex officio     David S. Haynes, ex officio