Minutes of the Special Formal Session


Friday, July 9, 2021


A special formal session of the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University was held on Friday, July 9, 2021, via Zoom Video Conference. The meeting was convened at 9:31 a.m. by Chair Tami M. Seavoy.


Trustees present included:

Ms. Tami M. Seavoy, Chair

Mr. Jason T. Morgan

Ms. Lisa I. Fittante

Mr. Gregory J. Seppanen

Ms. Alexis M. Hart

Mr. Stephen E. Young, Vice Chair

Mr. Robert E. Mahaney

Dr. Fritz J Erickson, ex officio


Trustees absent included:

Ms. Donna L. Murray-Brown


Senior Staff and Counsel present included:

Mr. Brad Canale, Chief Executive Officer NMU Foundation

Mr. R. Gavin Leach, Vice President for Finance and Administration and Treasurer of the Board of Trustees

Dr. Kerri Schuiling, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Ms. Deanna Hemmila, Executive Director Board/Government Relations

Ms. Cathy A. Andrew, Secretary of the Board of Trustees

Mr. Kurt McCamman, Legal Counsel

Ms. Rhea E. Dever, Assistant Vice President for Human Resources


The meeting was live-streamed on YouTube at



Secretary Andrew took roll call and noted that a quorum was met with seven (7) Trustees present.



Chair Seavoy noted a request to address the Board was received and a decision was made to waive the five-day notice requirement because of the shorter notice for this special formal meeting.


Dr. Brandon Canfield addressed the Board regarding Chemistry Department faculty salaries.


Chair Seavoy thanked Dr. Canfield for his comments.



President Erickson said there is a tentative agreement with the TOPS employees that has been ratified by the union. He thanked the negotiating teams for their hard work that resulted in a fair, meaningful contract.


Ms. Dever said they were able to get to an agreement relatively quickly because the TOPS group was outstanding to work with and know the contract very well.


The following action was taken:


It was moved by Trustee Seppanen and seconded by Trustee Hart that the negotiated contract between Northern Michigan University and the UAW-Local 1950 Technical Office and Professional for the time frame of July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2026 be approved.


Discussion followed. Chair Seavoy said she appreciates the work that went into this by the negotiating teams. She believes its an excellent agreement and likes to see that we are making an effort to boost the lower salaries to bring people up to a good rate.


Being no further discussion, Chair Seavoy called the question:


On a roll-call vote, the Board voted as follows:


Aye Nay


Lisa I. Fittante

Alexis M. Hart

Robert E. Mahaney

Jason T. Morgan

Gregory J. Seppanen

Tami M. Seavoy

Stephen E. Young


Being no further business, Chair Seavoy adjourned the meeting at 9:41 a.m.



Respectfully submitted,



/signed/Cathy A. Andrew

Secretary of the Board of Trustees