# NORTHERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

# **Minutes of the Special Formal Session**

of

Wednesday, January 5, 2022

A special formal session of the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University was held on Wednesday, January 5, 2022, via Zoom Video Conference. The meeting was convened at 5:02 p.m. by Chair Stephen E. Young.

# Trustees present included:

Mr. Stephen E. Young, Chair
Mr. Jason T. Morgan
Ms. Lisa I. Fittante
Mr. Gregory J. Seppanen
Ms. Alexis M. Hart, Vice Chair
Ms. Tami M. Seavoy

Mr. Robert E. Mahaney Dr. Kerri D. Schuiling, ex officio

### Senior Staff and Counsel present included:

Mr. Brad Canale, Chief Executive Officer – NMU Foundation

Dr. Dale Kapla, Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Mr. R. Gavin Leach, Vice President for Finance and Administration and Treasurer of the Board of Trustees

Dr. Steven P. VandenAvond, Vice President for Extended Learning and Community Engagement

Ms. Deanna Hemmila, Executive Director – Board/Government Relations

Ms. Cathy A. Andrew, Secretary of the Board of Trustees

Mr. Kurt McCamman, Legal Counsel

The meeting was live-streamed on YouTube at https://bit.ly/nmuavstreaming

### **ROLL CALL**

Secretary Andrew took roll call and noted that a quorum was met with seven Trustees present.

# PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Chair Young appointed the following to the Presidential Search Advisory Committee (PSAC):

### • Faculty:

- o Dr. Dwight Brady, President AAUP Faculty Union
- o Professor Daryl Kobie, President NMUFA Faculty Union
- Dr. Norma Froelich, Chair of the Academic Senate and Professor, College of Arts and Sciences
- Professor April Lindala, Center for Native American Studies / College of Health Sciences and Professional Studies

#### • Administration:

- Dr. Carter Wilson, Political Science Department Head / Professor College of Arts and Sciences
- o Brad Canale, CEO NMU Foundation
- o Dr. Chris Greer, Assistant VP and Dean of Students

#### • Students:

- o Bethany Beavers, President ASNMU
- o D'Mario Duckett, President Black Student Union

#### Staff

- o Rick Schwemin, President AFSCME Local 1094
- o Jeffrey Roo, President UAW 1950
- o Andy Hill, Director, President UAW Local 2178

### • Community member:

o Jenna Smith, Marquette Mayor

## • Community/Alumni:

- o Melissa Holmquist, CEO Upper Peninsula Health Plan
- o Kara Katona, CPA, Partner Makela, Toutant, Hill, Nardi and Katona P.C.

#### • Alumni:

- o Mike Oswald, COO Hill & Wilkinson Construction and member NMU Foundation Board
- o Teri List, Member Microsoft Board of Directors and 2014 NMU Commencement Speaker

### • Former NMU Trustee:

o Donna Murray-Brown

# • Current Trustees:

- o Bob Mahaney
- o Jason Morgan
- o Tami Seavoy
- o Steve Young (ex officio, non-voting member)

Chair Young stated that a potential candidate informed him this morning that should they be appointed, they would have to decline as they are unable to serve. He said in order to be able to maintain a balance it may be necessary to add someone to the committee after today's meeting.

The following action was taken:

It was moved by Trustee Seavoy and seconded by Trustee Hart that the Board of Trustees consent to the Presidential Search Advisory Committee appointments.

#### Discussion followed:

Trustee Seavoy said the "process for selecting the next president of Northern Michigan University is very important. From the time we began discussing the process, we recognized this committee would need to be a well-balanced collection of NMU's stakeholders. The appointments bring campus-wide representation, as well as community and alumni points of view. Moreover, the individuals from each area are very capable leaders, who have been recognized as such by their peers. I'm proud to support these appointments as a significant step toward selecting the next great leader for Northern Michigan University."

Trustee Young thanked Trustee Seavoy for all of her work to get the Board to this point in the process.

Being no further discussion, Chair Young called the question:

On a roll-call vote, the Board voted as follows:

<u>Aye</u> <u>Nay</u>

Lisa I. Fittante Alexis M. Hart Robert E. Mahaney Jason T. Morgan Tami M. Seavoy Gregory J. Seppanen Stephen E. Young

Secretary Andrew announced the motion carries 7 - 0.

Chair Young designated Dr. Chris Greer as the Chair of the Presidential Search Advisory Committee.

# PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH ADVISORY COMMITTEE CHARGE

Chair Young said as the Chairman of the NMU Board of Trustees, he charges the Presidential Search Advisory Committee (PSAC) as follows. The PSAC will:

- A. Conduct itself and carry out its work in a manner that enhances the stature of Northern Michigan University;
- B. Carry out its work with the University's commitment to principles and policies of diversity, equity, and inclusion;
- C. Be guided by presidential search best practices as provided by Parker Executive Search;
- D. Work with Parker Executive Search in all facets of the presidential search;
- E. Conduct listening sessions to ascertain the needs of campus;
- F. Use data from the listening sessions to review and finalize job description for the next President prepared by Parker Executive Search;
- G. Review candidate resumes presented by Parker Executive Search;
- H. Interview top candidates;
- I. Identify 3-5 unranked candidates to present to the NMU Board of Trustees, who will select the next President;

- J. The Chair of the NMU Board of Trustees will have the authority to fill PSAC membership vacancies if they arise;
- K. Conclude its role upon the appointment of the next president by the NMU Board of Trustees or as otherwise determined by the NMU Board of Trustees.

The following action was taken:

It was moved by Trustee Morgan and seconded by Trustee Hart that the Board of Trustees approve the charge of the Presidential Search Advisory Committee.

Discussion followed:

Trustee Morgan said it sounds like an appropriate and prudent charge and he looks forward to working with the PSAC to carry out the charge.

Being no further discussion, Chair Young called the question:

On a roll-call vote, the Board voted as follows:

<u>Aye</u> <u>Nay</u>

Lisa I. Fittante Alexis M. Hart Robert E. Mahaney Jason T. Morgan Tami M. Seavoy Gregory J. Seppanen Stephen E. Young

Secretary Andrew announced the motion carries 7 - 0.

Chair Young noted that as this is a special meeting, there are no other agenda items that can be addressed at this time.

Chair Young adjourned the meeting at 5:13 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cathy A. Andrew

Secretary of the Board of Trustees