Addendum #5





Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas Administrative Center

December 12, 2003, 8:00 a.m.



Members Present:     Mr. Karl Weber, Chair, Mr. Samuel Benedict, Ms. Mary C. Lukens, Dr. Fred Joyal,

Dr. Leonard Heldreth, Mr. William Bernard, Dr. Michael J. Roy, ex officio, and

Mr. Alan Ackerman, Alternate

Guests:                       Dr. Mark Curtis, Dr. M. Cameron Howes, Prof. Darlene Pierce, Dr. James Scheiner,

and Dr. Terrance Seethoff



The Academic Affairs Committee meeting was called to order at 8:00 a.m.


The Academic Affairs Committee discussed the formation of a Technology Advisory Committee and how members of this committee might be identified.  Some benefits of the committee to NMU would be State and National exposure, an innovative marketing tool, possible increased productivity through implementation of technology, and student exposure to real world applications.  Dr. Fred Joyal, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, was charged with the task of writing a proposal identifying the composition, schedule and expectations for the committee.  Board member Mary Campbell generously offered a donation to NMU for the first year of travel costs for members of the committee to come to NMU for meetings.


Mr. Weber thanked the Committee, and the meeting was adjourned at 8:53 a.m.