REVISED 12/4/03




Thursday-Friday, December 11-12, 2003



Thursday, December 11


  9:30 a.m.        Regular Session Called to Order.  Sixth Floor Conference Room, 604 Cohodas.


  9:30 a.m.        Moment of silence in memory of three members of the NMU community who passed away recently:  Ms. Jessica Urbis, an NMU nursing student; Mrs. Ruth Erickson, wife of Chemistry Lab Supervisor David Erickson; and Dr. Thomas Hruska, Professor of English  Provost Fred Joyal .



  9:30 a.m.       1.         Authorization to Hold Closed Session of the Board of Trustees in Conjunction with the Thursday-Friday, December 11-12, 2003 Board Meeting (SPECIAL ACTION ITEM ROLL-CALL VOTE) President Michael Roy (Backup)


  9:35 a.m.       2.         FOCUS DISCUSSION I:  Marketing/Recruitment/Enrollment Mr. William Bernard, Ms. Gerri Daniels, Mr. Paul Duby, Mr. Brian Zinser  (Backup)



12:00 noon       Regular Session Recessed. 


  2:15 p.m.        Regular Session Reconvened.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.


  2:15 p.m.       3.         FOCUS DISCUSSION II:  Budget President Roy, Dr. Fred Joyal, Mr. Gavin Leach  (Backup)



  5:30 p.m.        Regular Session Recessed. 



Friday, December 12, 2003


  8:00 a.m.        Academic Affairs Committee Meeting.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.  (Backup)

                        (Continental breakfast provided.)


  9:00 a.m.        Finance Committee Meeting.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.  (Backup)


11:30 a.m.        Regular Session Reconvened.  Business Portion.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



11:30 a.m.       4.         Introduction of Graduating Senior Speaking at Midyear Commencement Mr. William Bernard


11:35 a.m.       5.         Individual Requests to Address the Board Ms. Grundstrom


11:40 a.m.       6.         ASNMU Report Mr. Kyle Ortiz


11:45 a.m.       7.         Presidential Search Update Chair Campbell, PSAC Chair Benedict


11:50 a.m.       8.         President's Report -- President Roy


11:55 a.m.       9.         Committee Reports:

                                         a.    Academic Affairs Mr. Karl Weber

                                         b.    Finance Mr. Samuel Benedict


12:05 p.m.       10.       Appointments of Trustees to Standing Committees for Calendar Year 2004

                                    (See Formal Recommendations F-1 and F-2) Chair Campbell


12:10 p.m.       11.       Appointments of Trustees to Serve on the Development Fund Board of Trustees for Calendar Year 2004:  Mr. Alan Ackerman, Mr. Scott Holman, and Mr. Larry Inman Chair Campbell


12:15 p.m.       12.       Other Business Chair Campbell


12:20 p.m.       13.       Action on Formal Recommendations Chair Campbell   (Backup)


12:25 p.m.       14.       Announcement of Closed Session to be held in Connection with the Thursday-Friday, February 12-13, 2004, Annual Retreat of the Board President Roy



12:30 p.m.        Regular Session Recessed.


  1:30 p.m.        Regular Session Reconvened.  Business Portion.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



  1:30 p.m.       15.       Discussion on Technology with Dr. Gary R. Bertoline '74, Associate Vice President for Information Technology and Director of the Envision Center for Data Perceptualization at Purdue University, and NMU Midyear Commencement Speaker.


  2:00 p.m.       16.       Follow-up Discussion on Budget and/or Recruitment Issues Chair Campbell



  5:00 p.m.        Regular Session Adjourned.




Academic Affairs                   Finance                                               Executive       

Karl A. Weber, Chair               Samuel S. Benedict, Chair                    Scott L. Holman, Chair

Mary C. Lukens                       Scott L. Holman                                   Mary C. Lukens

Samuel S. Benedict                   Douglas B. Roberts                              Karl A. Weber

Mary L. Campbell, ex officio    Mary L. Campbell, ex officio                Mary L. Campbell, ex officio

Michael J. Roy, ex officio          Michael J. Roy, ex officio                      Michael J. Roy, ex officio

Alan T. Ackerman, alternate     Larry C. Inman, alternate                      Samuel S. Benedict, alternate