Thursday-Friday, December 14-15, 2006



Thursday, December 14, 2006



    3:00 p.m.     Regular Session Called to Order.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



    3:00 p.m.    1.        Authorization to Hold Closed Session of the Board of Trustees in Conjunction with the Thursday-Friday, December 14-15, 2006, Board Meeting (SPECIAL ACTION ITEM ROLL-CALL VOTE) President Les Wong (Backup)



    3:05 p.m.     Regular Session Recessed. 



Friday, December 15, 2006



    9:00 a.m.     Academic Affairs Committee Meeting.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas. (Backup)


  10:30 a.m.     Finance Committee Meeting.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas. (Backup)


    1:00 p.m.     Regular Session Reconvened.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



    1:00 p.m.    2.         Individual Requests to Address the Board Ms. Grundstrom


    1:05 p.m.    3.         Introduction of Graduating Senior Speaking at Midyear Commencement Mr. Bernard


    1:10 p.m.    4.         ASNMU Report Mr. Erik Maillard (Backup)


    1:15 p.m.    5.         President's Report:  Focus on China Trip President Wong


    1:30 p.m.    6.         Committee Reports:

                                         a.    Academic Affairs Ms. Mary Lukens

                                         b.    Finance Dr. Douglas Roberts

                                         c.    Executive Mr. Samuel Benedict


    1:45 p.m.    7.         Appointments of Trustees to Standing Committees for Calendar Year 2007

                                    (See Formal Recommendation F-1) and Announcement of 2007 Ex Officio Appointments to the NMU Foundation Board of Trustees:  Brian D. Cloyd and Jon G. LaSalle Chair-elect Lukens


    1:50 p.m.    8.         Presentations to Retiring Trustees:  Chair Weber and Vice Chair Inman Chair-elect Lukens


    2:00 p.m.    9.         Action on Formal Recommendations Chair Weber (Backup)


    2:05 p.m.    10.       Announcement of Closed Session to be held in Connection with the Thursday-Friday, February 22-23, 2007, Meeting of the Board President Wong


    2:10 p.m.    11.       Other Business Chair Weber



    2:15 p.m.     Regular Session Recessed.


    2:30 p.m.     Regular Session Reconvened.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



    2:30 p.m.    12.       FOCUS DISCUSSION: 

                                    a.         Legislative Update President Wong, Mr. David Haynes

                                    b.         Proposal 2 Update President Wong, Ms. Cathy Dehlin

c.         Financial Aid Models President Wong, Mr. Bill Bernard, Dr. Paul Duby, Mr. Mike Rotundo (Ms. Gerri Daniels,

Mr. Gavin Leach, Ms. Cindy Paavola, Dr. Mike Roy)



    4:00 p.m.     Regular Session Adjourned.



* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *





Academic Affairs                         Finance                                     Executive

Mary C. Lukens, Chair                  Douglas B. Roberts, Chair         Samuel S. Benedict, Chair

Brian D. Cloyd                              Alan T. Ackerman                     Larry C. Inman

Larry C. Inman                              Samuel S. Benedict                    Mary C. Lukens

Jon G. LaSalle                               Larry C. Inman                          Karl A. Weber, ex officio

Karl A. Weber, ex officio              Karl A. Weber, ex officio          Leslie E. Wong, ex officio

    Leslie E. Wong, ex officio             Leslie E. Wong, ex officio         Douglas B. Roberts, alternate