Minutes of the Special Meeting of

Friday, May 9, 2003


A special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Northern Michigan University was held on Friday, May 9, 2003, in the Board of Trustees Meeting Room, 602 Cohodas Administrative Center, Northern Michigan University, Marquette, Michigan.  The meeting was convened at 1:36 p.m. by Chair Mary Campbell.


Trustees present included:         Mary L. Campbell, Chair (via conference call)

                                                Karl A. Weber, Vice Chair

                                                Alan T. Ackerman (via conference call)

                                                Scott L. Holman

                                                Larry C. Inman (via conference call)

                                                Mary C. Lukens (via conference call)

                                                Douglas B. Roberts (via conference call)


Trustees absent were Samuel S. Benedict and Judith I. Bailey (ex officio).


Vice Presidents/Board staff present included:


        Michael J. Roy, V.P. for Finance and Administration and Treasurer of the Board (via conference call)

        Pamalene R. Grundstrom, Executive Assistant to the President and Secretary of the Board

        Alfred N. Joyal, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs





It was moved by Mr. Holman, seconded by Ms. Lukens, and supported unanimously by the Board to approve the following recommendations:


That the Northern Michigan University Board of Trustees accept the resignation of President Judith I. Bailey;

That the Northern Michigan University Board of Trustees elect Dr. Michael J. Roy as Interim President, effective May 9, 2003; and

That the Northern Michigan University Board of Trustees appoint Mr. R. Gavin Leach as Acting Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer of the Board, effective May 9, 2003





Chair Campbell adjourned the meeting at 1:40 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,




Pamalene R. Grundstrom, Secretary of the BoardHolman