

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

4/25/2024

SCHEDULE / AGENDA

Thursday – Friday, May 2 – 3, 2024

Thursday, May 2, 2024

NOTE: The Finance Committee meeting will be live-streamed on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/@nmuavstreaming3304

4:15-

4:45 p.m. Finance Committee Meeting – *Peninsula II, Northern Center*

Friday, May 3, 2024

<u>Open Formal Sessions</u> – Peninsula II, Northern Center

NOTE: The formal session and committee meeting will be live-streamed on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/@nmuavstreaming3304

8:30 a.m. 1. Formal Meeting Called to Order – Chair Steve Young

8:31 a.m. 2. Roll Call – Secretary Cathy Andrew

8:32 a.m. 3. Approval of Agenda – Chair Steve Young

8:33 a.m. 4. Moment of Silence

• Mr. Alex Duquette, student – Dr. Anne Dahlman

• Ms. Paula Supanich, staff – Mr. R. Gavin Leach

8:35 a.m. 5. Work Scholars Update – Mr. Dave Nyberg and Dr. Cale Polkinghorne

9:05 a.m. Formal Meeting Recessed

9:15 – 9:45 a.m. Academic Affairs Committee Meeting

9:45 - 10:00 a.m. - Break

- 10:00 a.m. 6. Individual Requests to Address the Board Secretary Cathy Andrew
- 10:03 a.m. 7. Commencement Speakers:
 - ❖ Introduction of Graduating Student Commencement Speaker Dr. Anne Dahlman
 - Ms. Grace Cook, Elementary Education Major
 - ❖ Introduction of Commencement Speaker President Brock Tessman
 - Dr. Milton Chen will be the May 2024 Commencement Speaker
- 10:10 a.m. 8. Special Recognitions
- 10:25 a.m. 9. A Moment in NMU History Dr. Russel Magnaghi
 - Early Philanthropy at NMU
- 10:30 a.m. 10. ASNMU Update Ms. Gwen Feamster, President and Ms. Dana Hinckley, President-
- 10:40 a.m. 11. President's Report President Brock Tessman
- 10:50 a.m. 12. Committee Reports:
 - a. Academic Affairs Trustee Lisa Fittante
 - b. Finance Trustee Alexis Hart
- 10:54 a.m. 13. Action on Formal Recommendations Chair Steve Young
- 10:55 a.m. 14. Announcement of Informal Session to be held in conjunction with the Thursday Friday, July 18 19, 2024 and Thursday Friday, September 19 20, 2024 Meetings of the Board President Brock Tessman
- 10:56 a.m. 15. Good of the Order Chair Steve Young
- 11:30 a.m. Formal Meeting Adjourned

BOARD OF TRUSTEES 2024 COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

<u>Academic Affairs</u>	<u>Finance</u>	Executive
Lisa I. Fittante, Chair	Alexis M. Hart, Chair	Stephen E. Young, Chair
Steven W. Lindberg	Melissa A. Holmquist	Lisa I. Fittante
Gregory J. Seppanen	Brigitte R. LaPointe-Dunham	Alexis M. Hart
Greg M. Toutant	Gregory J. Seppanen	Brock F. Tessman
Stephen E. Young, ex officio	Stephen E. Young, ex officio	
Brock F. Tessman, ex officio	Brock F. Tessman, ex officio	

Ad Hoc – Policy Review

Melissa A. Holmquist, Chair Lisa I. Fittante Steven W. Lindberg Greg M. Toutant Stephen E. Young, ex officio Brock F. Tessman, ex officio