A Beautiful Location

A Beautiful Location: the Architecture of NMU

The Beaumier U.P. Heritage Center will open a new exhibition on the architectural history of Northern Michigan University entitled, “A Beautiful Location: the Architecture of NMU,” on Saturday, June 12. The exhibition will be open Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Saturdays from 12 to 4 p.m, through September 4. Admission is free and open to the public. Currently, all visitors will need to wear a mask unless they are fully vaccinated.

“A Beautiful Location,” looks at how Northern Michigan University went from a one building campus in a remote part of Marquette, to its expansion as a modern campus of the 1960s and the wired-community of today. NMU has had a rich and fascinating physical history.  The campus features some of the region’s most significant structures designed by Michigan’s greatest architects. From the now demolished Kaye Hall, designed by D. Frederick Charlton, to Harden Hall (originally the Learning Resources Center) designed by Michigan’s most famous architect, Alden B. Dow, Northern’s campus is a mix of unique architectural styles and aesthetics.

The exhibition will feature key information about each structure, including photographs, maps, architectural plans. In addition, the exhibition will have a time-lapse map showing how the campus has grown and spread out over the past 122 years.  There will also be display cases featuring architectural fragments, signs and artifacts connected with buildings no longer in existence on campus.

Lastly, the Beaumier Center will be hosting occasional architectural walking tours of the NMU campus this summer. These tours are free but are limited to 20 people. To make a reservation for one of the following tours, please call 906-227-2549.

Walking tour dates: 

Thursday, July 8

Thursday, July 22

Thursday, August 5

Thursday, August 19

For more information on visiting the Beaumier Center, please go to www.nmu.edu/beaumier or www.facebook.com/beaumiernmu.

A Beautiful Location


Saturday, Jun 12, 2021

Monday, Jun 14, 2021

Tuesday, Jun 15, 2021

Wednesday, Jun 16, 2021

Thursday, Jun 17, 2021

Friday, Jun 18, 2021

Saturday, Jun 19, 2021

Monday, Jun 21, 2021

Tuesday, Jun 22, 2021

Wednesday, Jun 23, 2021

Thursday, Jun 24, 2021

Friday, Jun 25, 2021

Saturday, Jun 26, 2021

Monday, Jun 28, 2021

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2021

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2021

Thursday, Jul 1, 2021

Friday, Jul 2, 2021

Saturday, Jul 3, 2021

Tuesday, Jul 6, 2021

Wednesday, Jul 7, 2021

Thursday, Jul 8, 2021

Friday, Jul 9, 2021

Saturday, Jul 10, 2021

Monday, Jul 12, 2021

Tuesday, Jul 13, 2021

Wednesday, Jul 14, 2021

Thursday, Jul 15, 2021

Friday, Jul 16, 2021

Saturday, Jul 17, 2021

Monday, Jul 19, 2021

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2021

Thursday, Jul 22, 2021

Friday, Jul 23, 2021

Saturday, Jul 24, 2021

Monday, Jul 26, 2021

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2021

Wednesday, Jul 28, 2021

Thursday, Jul 29, 2021

Friday, Jul 30, 2021

Saturday, Jul 31, 2021

Monday, Aug 2, 2021

Tuesday, Aug 3, 2021

Wednesday, Aug 4, 2021

Thursday, Aug 5, 2021

Friday, Aug 6, 2021

Saturday, Aug 7, 2021

Monday, Aug 9, 2021

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2021

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2021

Thursday, Aug 12, 2021

Friday, Aug 13, 2021

Saturday, Aug 14, 2021

Monday, Aug 16, 2021

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2021

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2021

Thursday, Aug 19, 2021

Friday, Aug 20, 2021

Saturday, Aug 21, 2021

Monday, Aug 23, 2021

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2021

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2021

Thursday, Aug 26, 2021

Friday, Aug 27, 2021

Saturday, Aug 28, 2021

Monday, Aug 30, 2021

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2021

Wednesday, Sep 1, 2021

Thursday, Sep 2, 2021

Friday, Sep 3, 2021

Saturday, Sep 4, 2021

Start Time:  9:00 am
End Time:  4:00 pm

Event Place

Beaumier U.P. Heritage Center

Room

Gallery

Address

7th and Tracy Ave.

Event Status

Scheduled

Department

Beaumier U.P. Heritage Center

Primary Contact

Daniel Truckey

Contact Phone Number

906-227-3212

Contact Email

heritage@nmu.edu

Event Type

Community

Ticket Cost

Free