About the SPBAC

This committee serves in an advisory capacity to the president and the senior leadership team regarding issues and opportunities related to the implementation of Northern Michigan University’s strategic plan. Input will be sought in four primary areas:

  • consideration of strategic plan initiative proposals
  • contemplation of strategic plan expenditure proposals
  • development of strategic plan implementation processes and procedures
  • assistance to NMU divisions, colleges, departments, offices in aligning unit plans to overall NMU strategic planning framework

The committee meets monthly. The current co-chairs are Brent Graves, biology professor and president of the AAUP, and Leslie Warren, dean of Academic Information Services.

Meeting Schedule

The Strategic Planning and Budgeting Advisory Committee meets once a month throughout the academic year and periodically as needed during the summer. Additional meetings scheduled as needs arise.  For the 2020-21 academic year, the committee will typically meet the second Thursday of each month from 3-5 p.m. in the Northern Center (room location varies; check facility room schedule at building entrances). 

View Meeting Dates & Materials

Expectations and Campus Communication

SPBAC Member Selection

The members of the Strategic Planning and Budgeting Advisory Committee were chosen through one of four ways:

  1. Selected by the NMU President
  2. Selected by a vice president, dean or department head to represent a division or a college
  3. Selected by AAUP and NMUFA per union contract stipulations
  4. Nominated by multiple peers within an employee group.

All employee groups, unions and levels are represented by at least one member of the committee.

Term of Appointment

Faculty/staff members appointed in the first year will have randomly staggered terms from 1-3 years. However once first-year membership is established, non-student members will be eligible for one additional three-year term. Student members are appointed for 1 year with renewal possible for up to 3 years. Ex-officio members serve for the duration of their tenure in the ex officio positions. The NMU president and other ex officio members will identify the process and timeline for selecting a new chair/co-chair prior to the start of the third year of the current serving chair(s).

Current Membership Opportunities

Current faculty/staff vacancies:

  • College of Arts and Sciences - One three-year term
  • College of Health Sciences and Professional Studies - One three-year term

Current SPBAC Members

Term Expires June 30, 2019

  • Leslie Warren, co-chair, Library and Instructional Support
  • Jamie Beauchamp, Controller's Office
  • John Centko, Technology and Occupational Sciences
  • Jessica Cruz, Diversity and Inclusion
  • Chris Greer, Dean of Students

Term Expires June 30, 2020

  • Rhea Dever, Human Resources
  • Jessi Dhanapal, Academic and Career Advisement Center
  • Colby Lang, Public Safety and Police Services
  • Dawn McAuliffe, Dean of Students Office
  • Kevin McDonough, Library and Instructional Support
  • Tim Schirtzinger, Purchasing
  • Robyn Stille, Alumni Relations
  • Vacant - College of Business
  • Vacant - College of Health Sciences and Professional Studies

Term Expires June 30, 2021 

  • Stacy Boyer-Davis, Business
  • Ross Broughton, Financial Services
  • Gerri Daniels, Admissions
  • Lynn Domina, English
  • Bob Eslinger, Extended Learning and Community Engagement
  • Carol Johnson, Business
  • Christine Larson, Financial Aid
  • Evan Lucas, co-chair, Technology and Occupational Sciences
  • Chris Lewis, Business Intelligence and Information Services
  • Kristi Robinia, Nursing and College of Health Sciences and Professional Studies

Term Expires June 30, 2022

  • Matt Franti, Finance & Administration
  • Pam Johnson, Financial Services
  • Paul Schoonveld, Dining Services

Student Term (renewable 1-year term up to 3 years)

  • Undergraduate, bachelor's -- Cody Mayer
  • Undergraduate, associate/certificate/diploma -- Katie Rankinen
  • Vacant - Graduate student

Ex Officio (tenure as they hold current position)

  • NMU President
  • Vice President and Provost Kerri Schuiling
  • Vice President Gavin Leach
  • Vice President Steve VandenAvond
  • Advancement CEO Brad Canale
  • ​Athletic Director Forrest Karr
  • Assistant to the President for Strategic Initiatives Cindy Paavola

Meeting minutes are available per request. Contact Terri Williams, Office of the President, at 227-2242 or tewillia@nmu.edu.