Donate to the SLFP

2021 SLFP Ask Postcard

Impact of the SLFP

Since its creation in 1991, the 1,227 graduates of the SLFP have logged 133,203 volunteer and community leadership hours at 548 different sites in the Marquette community and across the world. In addition, over 815 individual community members have served as leadership mentors and role models for SLFP members. The synergy between student leaders, community members, and nonprofit and volunteer organizations has made a positive impact on countless lives.

How You Can Make a Difference

We are incredibly grateful for the more than 800 people who have made donations over the years and would love to see that number grow. If you want to help support student leaders and leadership and community development, consider donating to the SLFP. 

There are two ways you can help:

  • Donate to the Student Leader Fellowship Program
  • Donate to the David L. Bonsall Endowment Fund

How Donations Support the SLFP

Donating directly to the SLFP helps fund essential program components like the annual Fall Retreat, internship planning meetings, networking and social events, support for the Skill Builder! workshop series, and the graduation ceremony. 

Donating to the David L. Bonsall Endowment Fund will help ensure that the SLFP can continue its commitment to developing competent, ethical, and community-centered leaders well into the future. The goal of the fund is to eventually make the SLFP a self-sustaining program and guarantee that the SLFP will be a fixture of the NMU student experience. 

The endowment fund was renamed to honor a key contributor and role model of the SLFP - Dave Bonsall. Dave was instrumental in creating the SLFP. He helped write the initial grant that started the program and was involved with coordinating and sustaining the program for 22 years. Dave is still involved with the SLFP in a number of ways. Perhaps most important of all, Dave lives his life in a way that exemplifies the vision and goals of this tremendous program. For these reasons and more, the SLFP endowment will forever bear his name.


Program Donors

$500+ Student Fellow Sponsors

Daniel Blood

Dave & Sandy Bonsall

David Buick

Lindsey & Tyson Butorac

Heidi Ernst

ExxonMobil Foundation

Dr. James & Kathleen Keplinger

Cindy Paavola

Schwab Charitable Fund


$250+ Student Fellow Sponsors


Dr. Jon & Maggie Barch Shannon & Christian Schuster Jane & Matthew Surrell


$100+ Friends of the Student Leader Fellowship Program


James Anderson & Vicki Wurzburg

Timothy & Dianne Bennett

Erin & Michael Berkowitz

Merry Jo Brandimore

Kelly & Brett Brende

Alysa Diebolt

Dr. Alexis Eckard

Brendan & Sara Franklin

Rachel & John Harris


Amanda Hawkins

Thomas Humphrey

Kara Jacoboni

Melissa & Daniel Kallio

Mary Kellermann

Lisa & Paul Kotz

Dency Lippert

J'Aimee & David Lippert

Amanda Lynch



Robert & Carolyn Myers

Edward & Sara Niemi

Amy Schulz

Anna & Dan Sharkey

Ronald & Janet Stump

Stephanie Taylor

Michelle & Roger Todzy II

Amy Uecke

Nicole Weber

$50+ Contributors to the Student Leader Fellowship Program

Richard Andersons

James Boileau

Courtney Brown

Karen Dubow

Barbara & Andrew Gooch

Shannon Jedd

Mary Kerlin

Gregory & Christina Kleinheinz

Victoria Leonhardt

Jerome & Jennifer Lombardo

Savannah Mallo

Erin Sikkema & Darryn Adams

Ryan Watling

Connie & Faye Williams

Alexander Wolfe

Other Contributors

Gladys & Dewar Bosel

Esther Deno

Henschel Hoof Care LLC

Michelle Janisz

Jane Kamps

Meredith Keck

Michaela McLeod

Karen Saari & Dave Pausch

Mary & Joseph Sargent

Mary Snyder-Henschel & Jeremy Henschel

Brianne Steele

Morgan Zoeller