Thursday-Friday, May 3-4, 2012



Thursday, May 3, 2012


8:30 a.m.         Ad hoc Strategic Planning Committee.  Sixth Floor Conference Room, 604 Cohodas.


11:30 a.m.       Co-generation Heating Plant Groundbreaking Ceremony.  Heating Plant Site.  Corner of Wright Street and Sugarloaf Avenue


  1:00 p.m.       Academic Affairs Committee Meeting.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.


  2:30 p.m.       Finance Committee, Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



Friday, May 4, 2012


9:00 a.m.      Formal Session Called to Order.  Focus Discussion.  Board of Trustees Room.

 602 Cohodas.



    9:00 a.m.     1.         Individual Requests to Address the Board – Ms. Theresa Nease



    9:15 a.m.     2.         FOCUS DISCUSSION:  Formula Funding

                                    Dr. Les Wong, President

                                    Mr. Gavin Leach, Vice President for Finance and Administration



  10:20 a.m.     Formal Session Recessed.


  10:30 a.m.     Formal Session Reconvened.  Business Session.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



  10:30 a.m.     3.         Commencement Speakers:

                        Introduction of Graduating Student Commencement Speaker –

                        Mr. William Bernard

                        Mr. Youngjong Lee/Media Production and New Technology Major


                                    Announcement of Honorary Degree Recipient – President Leslie Wong

                        The Honorable Ada E. Deer, Former Assistant Secretary for Indian Affairs, U.S. Department of Interior and Distinguished Lecturer Emerita, School of Social Work and American Indian Studies, University of Wisconsin-Madison.  She will also be the May 2012 Commencement Speaker.



  10:35 a.m.     4.         ASNMU Report  - Mr. Justin Brugman/Mr. Benjamin Stanley



  10:40 a.m.     5.         President’s Report – President Wong



  11:00 a.m.     6.         Committee Reports:

                                         a.    Academic Affairs – Dr. L. Garnet Lewis

                                         b.    Finance – Mr. Stephen Adamini

                                         c.    Executive – Mr. Jon G. LaSalle

                                         d.    ad hoc Strategic Planning – Dr. L. Garnet Lewis



  11:20 a.m.     7.         Action on Formal Recommendations – Chair Brian Cloyd


  11:25 a.m.     8.         Announcement of Informal/Closed Session to be held in connection with the Wednesday-Thursday, July 11-12, 2012, Meeting of the Board –

                                    President Wong



  11:30 a.m.     Formal Session Adjourned.





*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  * 



Academic Affairs                                  Finance                                   Executive

L. Garnet Lewis, Chair               Stephen F. Adamini, Chair         Jon G. LaSalle , Chair

Jon G. LaSalle                             Stephen L. Gulis, Jr.                   Stephen F. Adamini

        Richard M. Popp                         Richard M. Popp                         L. Garnet Lewis

H. Sook Wilkinson                      Gilbert L. Ziegler                        Brian D. Cloyd, ex officio

Brian D. Cloyd, ex officio          Brian D. Cloyd, ex officio          Leslie E. Wong, ex officio 

Leslie E. Wong, ex officio          Leslie E. Wong, ex officio