Thursday-Friday, April 29-30, 2004



Thursday, April 29


11:30 a.m.        Regular Session Called to Order.  Sixth Floor Conference Room, 604 Cohodas.


11:30 a.m.       1.         Authorization to Hold Closed Session of the Board of Trustees in Conjunction    with the Thursday-Friday, April 29-30, 2004, Board Meeting (SPECIAL ACTION ITEM ROLL-CALL VOTE) President Michael Roy


11:35 p.m.        Regular Session Recessed. 



Friday, April 30, 2004


  8:30 a.m.        Regular Session Reconvened.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.


  8:30 a.m.       2.         Individual Requests to Address the Board Ms. Grundstrom


  8:35 a.m.       3.         FOCUS DISCUSSION:  Budget:  Including Public Broadcasting, USOEC, Northern Initiatives and legislative update President Roy, Provost Fred Joyal, Mr. Gavin Leach, Mr. David Haynes  (Backup)


10:00 a.m.        Regular Session Recessed. 


10:15 a.m.        Regular Session Reconvened.  Business Portion.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.


10:15 a.m.       4.         Moment of silence in memory of Sharon Jensen, Director of the NMU Upward Bound Program, who passed away on February 15, 2004 Provost Fred Joyal


10:20 a.m.       5.         Introduction of Graduating Senior Speaking at Spring Commencement Mr. William Bernard


10:25 a.m.       6.         Introduction of Recipients of Board of Trustees Student Achievement Awards and Non-Traditional Student Award for 2004 (See Formal Recommendation F-4) Mr. Edward Niemi


                        Mr. Kyle Ortiz                       Ms. Layla Khoury-Hanold

                        Mr. Brian Thanasiu               Ms. Christine Robinson


10:35 a.m.       7.         Introduction of Recipients of NMU Distinguished Faculty Awards for 2004

                                    (See Formal Recommendation F-3) Dr. Fred Joyal      


                                          Dr. Gary J. Brunswick, Director of Business Affairs and Professor

                                          College of Business


                                          Dr. Donald F. Dreisbach, Professor

                                          Department of Philosophy


                                          Dr. Teresa C. Hunt, Professor

                                          Department of English


10:45 a.m.       8.         ASNMU Report Mr. Kyle Ortiz and Ms. Rebecca Thompson 


10:50 a.m.       9.         President's Report President Roy 


10:55 a.m.       10.       Committee Reports:

                                         a.    Academic Affairs Mr. Karl Weber  (Backup)

                                         b.    Finance Mr. Samuel Benedict  (Backup)

                                         c.    Executive Mr. Scott Holman


11:10 a.m.       11.       AQIP Accreditation Update Dr. Leonard Heldreth, Mr. William Bernard, Mr. Tim Tanis, Mr. Tim Kutchen  (Backup)


11:35 a.m.       12.       Enrollment Report Mr. William Bernard  (Backup)


11:50 a.m.       13.       Development/Alumni Update Ms. Martha Van Der Kamp  (Backup)


12:05 p.m.       14.       Discussion of Proposed Board of Trustees Meeting Schedule for Calendar Year 2005 Ms. Grundstrom  (Backup)


12:10 p.m.       15.       Action on Formal Recommendations Chair Campbell  (Backup)


12:15 p.m.       16.       Announcement of Closed Session to be held in Connection with the Thursday-Friday, August 5-6, 2004, Meeting of the Board President Roy


12:20 p.m.        Regular Session Adjourned.*



* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *





Academic Affairs                               Finance                                               Executive       


Karl A. Weber, Chair                            Samuel S. Benedict, Chair                   Scott L. Holman, Chair

Alan T. Ackerman                                 Scott L. Holman                                  Mary C. Lukens

Samuel S. Benedict                               Larry C. Inman                                    Karl A. Weber

Mary C. Lukens                                    Douglas B. Roberts                             Mary L. Campbell, ex officio

Mary L. Campbell, ex officio                Mary L. Campbell, ex officio                Michael J. Roy, ex officio

Michael J. Roy, ex officio                       Michael J. Roy, ex officio                     Samuel S. Benedict, alternate