Thursday-Friday, December 15-16, 2005



Thursday, December 15, 2005



  11:30 a.m.     Regular Session Called to Order.  Sixth Floor Conference Room, 604 Cohodas.



  11:30 a.m.     1.       Authorization to Hold Closed Session of the Board of Trustees in Conjunction with the Thursday-Friday, December 15-16, 2005, Board Meeting (SPECIAL ACTION ITEM ROLL-CALL VOTE) President Les Wong (Backup)



  11:35 a.m.     Regular Session Recessed. 


    2:00 p.m.     Academic Affairs Committee Meeting.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas. (Backup)


    3:30 p.m.     Finance Committee Meeting.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas. (Backup)



Friday, December 16, 2005



    8:30 a.m.     Regular Session Reconvened.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



    8:30 a.m.     2.         Individual Requests to Address the Board Ms. Grundstrom


    8:35 a.m.     3.         FOCUS DISCUSSION


     a.    NMU Foundation:  Future Plans President Wong, Ms. Martha Van Der Kamp, Ms. Amy Silk

     b.    Public Television:  Annual Report and Digitalization Update Dr. Joyal, Mr. Eric Smith

     c.    NCAA Update:  President Wong, Mr. Kenneth Godfrey

     d.    Continuation of Funding/Formula Discussion Dr. Fred Joyal,

            Dr. Terry Seethoff, Dr. Mike Roy, Mr. Gavin Leach



  10:30 a.m.     Recess


  10:45 a.m.     Reconvene.  Business Session.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



  10:45 a.m.     4.         Moment of silence in memory of NMU student James Wieser Mr. Bill Bernard


  10:50 a.m.     5.         Presentation by Sister City Scholar Yuuka Sano Mr. John Weting


  10:55 a.m.     6.         Introduction of Graduating Senior Speaking at Midyear Commencement Mr. Bernard


  11:00 a.m.     7.         ASNMU Report Ms. Michelle Cox


  11:05 a.m.     8.         President's Report:  Focus on Faculty Excellence President Wong (Backup)


  11:20 a.m.     9.         Committee Reports:

                                         a.    Academic Affairs Ms. Mary Lukens

                                         b.    Finance Dr. Douglas Roberts

                                         c.    Executive Mr. Samuel Benedict


  11:35 a.m.     10.       Appointments of Trustees to Standing Committees for Calendar Year 2005 (See Formal Recommendation F-1) (Backup) and Announcement of 2006 Ex Officio Appointments to the NMU Foundation Board of Trustees:  Brian D. Cloyd, Larry C. Inman, and Jon G. LaSalle Chair Weber


  11:40 a.m.     11.       Action on Formal Recommendations Chair Weber (Backup)


  11:45 a.m.     12.       Announcement of Closed Session to be held in Connection with the Thursday-Friday, February 23-24, 2006, Meeting of the Board President Wong


  11:50 a.m.     13.       Other Business Chair Weber



  11:55 a.m.     Regular Session Adjourned.



* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *





Academic Affairs                                                      Finance          


Mary C. Lukens, Chair                                           Douglas B. Roberts, Chair

Brian D. Cloyd                                                       Alan T. Ackerman

Larry C. Inman                                                       Samuel S. Benedict

Jon G. LaSalle                                                         Larry C. Inman

Karl A. Weber, ex officio                                       Karl A. Weber, ex officio

            Leslie E. Wong, ex officio                                      Leslie E. Wong, ex officio