Thursday, February 23, 2006



Thursday, February 23


  11:30 a.m.                 Academic Affairs Committee Meeting.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas. (Backup)


    1:15 p.m.                 Regular Session Called to Order Chair Karl Weber.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



    1:15 p.m.    1.         Authorization to Hold Closed Session of the Board of Trustees in Conjunction with the Thursday, February 23, 2006 Board Meeting  (SPECIAL ACTION ITEM ROLL-CALL VOTE) President Leslie Wong (Backup)



    1:20 p.m.                 Regular Session Recessed. 


    2:30 p.m.                 Regular Session Reconvened.  Business portion.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



    2:30 p.m.    2.         Moment of Silence in Memory of NMU Students Carol Anderson and

                                    Erin Lawson Mr. Bill Bernard


    2:35 p.m.    3.         Individual Requests to Address the Board Ms. Pam Grundstrom


    2:40 p.m.    4.         President's Report:  Focus on Search Update President Wong (Backup)


    2:45 p.m.    5.         ASNMU Report Ms. Michelle Cox


    2:50 p.m.    6.         Committee Reports:


                                    a.         Academic Affairs Ms. Mary Lukens

                                    b.         Executive Mr. Sam Benedict


    3:00 p.m.    7.         Announcement of Closed Session to be held in Connection with the Thursday-Friday, May 4-5, 2006, Regular Session of the Board President Wong


    3:05 p.m.    8.         Action on Formal Recommendations Chair Weber (Backup)


    3:10 p.m.    9.         Other Business Chair Weber



    3:15 p.m.                 Regular Session Recessed.

    3:30 p.m.                 Regular Session Reconvened.  Focus Discussion.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas.



    3:30 p.m.    10.       FOCUS DISCUSSION Budget and Formula Models Discussion/Legislative Strategy President Wong, Dr. Mike Roy, Dr. Fred Joyal, Mr. Gavin Leach, Dr. Terry Seethoff, Mr. David Haynes, Ms. Cindy Paavola



    5:00 p.m.                 Regular Session Adjourned Chair Weber.



*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *    *  *




Academic Affairs                    Finance                                     Executive


Mary C. Lukens, Chair             Douglas B. Roberts, Chair        Samuel S. Benedict, Chair

Brian D. Cloyd                         Alan T. Ackerman                     Larry C. Inman

Larry C. Inman                         Samuel S. Benedict                   Mary C. Lukens

Jon G. LaSalle                           Larry C. Inman                         Karl A. Weber, ex officio

Karl A. Weber, ex officio         Karl A. Weber, ex officio         Leslie E. Wong, ex officio

    Leslie E. Wong, ex officio        Leslie E. Wong, ex officio        Douglas B. Roberts, alternate