Thursday – Friday, December 11-12, 2014


Thursday, December 11, 2014



  2:00 p.m.       Academic Affairs Committee Meeting.  Marquette-Nicolet. University Center.


  3:00 p.m.       Finance Committee Meeting.  Marquette-Nicolet, University Center.



Friday, December 12, 2014


    9:30 a.m.     Formal Session.  Marquette-Nicolet. University Center.


                                Participants:   Trustees                  Paul Lang                 Cathy Niemi

                                                        Fritz Erickson        Gavin Leach            Kurt McCamman

                                                        Martha Haynes       Steven Neiheisel


  9:30 a.m.       1.         Individual Requests to Address the Board – Ms. Cathy Niemi


  9:35 a.m.       2.         Moment of Silence for Deceased Student – Dr. Steven Neiheisel


  9:40 a.m.       3.         Moment of Silence for Deceased Faculty – Dr. Paul Lang


  9:45 a.m.       4.         Commencement Speakers:


                                    Introduction of Graduating Student Commencement Speaker –

                                    Dr. Steven Neiheisel


                                                Ms. Emily Schneider

                                                Mathematics Major


                                    Announcement of Honorary Degree Recipient – President Fritz Erickson


Mr. Dana Verville ’80, Senior Director of Global Sales Excellence for Stryker Instruments, will receive the Honorary Degree, Doctorate of Business.  He will also be the December 2014 Commencement Speaker.


  9:55 a.m.       5.         ASNMU Update – Ms. Katerina Klawes


10:00 a.m.       6.         President’s Report – President Fritz Erickson


10:10 a.m.       Formal Session Recessed.


10:25 a.m.       Formal Session Reconvened.


10:25 a.m.       7.         Committee Reports:

a.          Academic Affairs – Dr. Thomas H. Zurbuchen

b.          Finance – Mr. Gilbert L. Ziegler

c.           Executive – Dr. L. Garnet Lewis


 10:40 a.m.    8.           Announcement of 2015 Ex Officio Appointments to the NMU Foundation Board of Trustees – Chair Popp


 10:50 a.m.  9.             Action on Formal Recommendations – Chair Popp


10:55 a.m.  10.            Announcement of Informal Session to be held in conjunction with the Monday – Tuesday, February 9-10, 2015, Meeting of the Board –

                                    President Fritz Erickson


11:00 a.m.  11.            Presentation to Outgoing Trustees – Chair Popp


11:15 a.m.       Formal Session Adjourned.



* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *





Academic Affairs                           Finance                                         Executive

Thomas H. Zurbuchen, Chair         Gilbert L. Ziegler, Chair              L. Garnet Lewis, Chair

L. Garnet Lewis                              Stephen F. Adamini                      H. Sook Wilkinson

Steven M. Mitchell                        Scott L. Holman                           Thomas H. Zurbuchen

Richard M. Popp, ex officio           Richard M. Popp, ex officio         Richard M. Popp, ex officio

Fritz J. Erickson, ex officio           Fritz J. Erickson, ex officio               Fritz J. Erickson, ex officio