Thursday, October 6, 2005



Thursday, October 6



    8:00 a.m.                 Regular Session Called to Order Chair Karl Weber. 

                                    Sixth Floor Conference Room, 604 Cohodas.



    8:00 a.m.     1.        Authorization to Hold Closed Session of the Board of Trustees in Conjunction with the Thursday, October 6, 2005 Board Meeting (SPECIAL ACTION ITEM ROLL-CALL VOTE) President Leslie Wong (Backup)



    8:05 a.m.                 Regular Session Recessed. 


    9:00 a.m.                 Finance Committee Meeting.  Board of Trustees Meeting Room, 602 Cohodas. (Backup)


  11:00 a.m.                 Academic Affairs Committee Meeting.  Board of Trustees Room, 602 Cohodas. (Backup)


    1:30 p.m.                 Regular Session Reconvened.  Board of Trustees Meeting Room, 602 Cohodas.



    1:30 p.m.    2.         Individual Requests to Address the Board Ms. Pam Grundstrom


    1:35 p.m.    3.         NMU Foundation/alumni Update Ms. Martha Van Der Kamp


    1:40 p.m.    4.         FOCUS DISCUSSION President Wong


                                    a.  Public Broadcasting:  Conclusion of Discussion Dr. Fred Joyal,

                                                Mr. Eric Smith [See Formal Recommendation F-5 (Backup)]


                                    b.  Budget and Formula Models Discussion President Wong, Dr. Mike Roy,

Mr. Gavin Leach, Dr. Terry Seethoff



    3:45 p.m.                 Break


    4:00 p.m.                 Regular Session Reconvened.  Business Portion. 

                                    Board of Trustees Meeting Room, 602 Cohodas.



    4:00 p.m.    5.         President's Report: Focus on Enrollment Update President Wong (Backup)


    4:10 p.m.    6.         ASNMU Report Ms. Michelle Cox (Backup)


    4:15 p.m.    7.         Committee Reports:


                                    a.         Academic Affairs Ms. Mary Lukens

                                    b.         Finance Dr. Doug Roberts

                                    c.         Ad Hoc Nominating Mr. Alan Ackerman

                                                (SPECIAL ACTION ITEM Election of Officers)


    4:30 p.m.    8.         2006 NMU Board of Trustees Meeting Schedule Ms. Grundstrom

                                    [See Formal Recommendation F-6 (Backup)]


    4:35 p.m.    9.         Announcement of Closed Session to be held in Connection with the Thursday-Friday, December 15-16, 2005, Regular Session of the Board President Wong


    4:40 p.m.    10.       Action on Formal Recommendations Chair Weber (Backup)


    4:45 p.m.    11.       Other Business Chair Weber



    4:50 p.m.                 Regular Session Adjourned Chair Weber.




*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *    *  *





Academic Affairs                    Finance                                     Executive


Mary C. Lukens, Chair             Douglas B. Roberts, Chair        Samuel S. Benedict, Chair

Brian D. Cloyd                         Alan T. Ackerman                     Larry C. Inman

Larry C. Inman                         Samuel S. Benedict                   Mary C. Lukens

Jon G. LaSalle                           Larry C. Inman                         Karl A. Weber, ex officio

Karl A. Weber, ex officio         Karl A. Weber, ex officio         Leslie E. Wong, ex officio

    Leslie E. Wong, ex officio        Leslie E. Wong, ex officio        Douglas B. Roberts, alternate