Students looking at a book against a bookshelf

About the DCRP

The Diversity Common Reader Program (DCRP) is a semester-long, campus-wide initiative that focuses on reading as a means of social dialogue and change. Held annually since 2013, this program comprises an interdisciplinary series of events inspired by a nonfiction book that advances discussions of diversity, inclusion, and justice.

Each year, books are distributed free of charge to interested NMU students (on a first-come-first-served basis), and all events are free and open to the public.


Ta-Nehisi Coates Between the World and Me

2020-2021 Book Selection

Working squarely within the prophetic tradition of literary giants James Baldwin and Richard Wright, Coates explores what it means to live in a black body in contemporary America. Between the World and Me folds trenchant social critique into an intimate letter addressed to the author's son, and is a singular and deeply compelling treatment of issues at the heart of the antiracist protests that have defined 2020.

Information about the HBO film and podcast inspired by "Between the World and Me"

2021 DCRP Event Schedule

Fall 2020 Book Discussion

Last semester, NMU undergraduate and graduate students gathered virtually to discuss this year's DCRP selection, "Between the World and Me." Hear what they had to say. When you're done, mark your calendar for some of our upcoming events. 

Green rectangle
DCRP Committee Chair, Lesley Larkin

“This year, we felt it was crucial to select a book written from a Black perspective that addressed anti-Black violence and police brutality. Between the World and Me is just such a book."

Lesley Larkin

DCRP committee chair | NMU English Professor

We'd love to hear from you.

Once you've read the book, please submit a brief video response (3 minutes) to Between the World and Me: Virtual Voices, which will highlight perspectives from students, staff, faculty and community members.

Contact Information

Lesley Larkin, DCRP committee chair

Office of Diversity and Inclusion