The Leadership Council consists of the president’s direct reports, the five academic deans and several other top administrators.  

The group’s primary responsibilities are to keep the president informed of issues and situations facing the various areas of the campus the members represent, as well as to identify and share campus, community or discipline area opportunities for Northern. The Council helps to oversee the preparation of the NMU Board of Trustees meeting presentations and materials.

The Leadership Council meets every Monday. 

Its current members are:
Kerri Schuiling, Interim President

President's Direct Reports --
Gavin Leach, Vice President for Finance and Administration
Dale Kapla, Interim Provost
Steve VandenAvond, Vice President for Extended Learning and Community Engagement, Interim Dean of Technology and Occupational Sciences
Brad Canale, CEO of the NMU Foundation
Mike Bath, Chief of Police, NMU Police Department, and Director of Safety, NMU Safety Department
TBA, Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer
Laura Glover, Executive Administrative Assistant to the President
Derek Hall, Chief Marketing Officer, University Marketing and Communications
Deanna Hemmila, Executive Director of Board and Government Relations
Forrest Karr, Athletic Director for Intercollegiate Athletics, Sports Recreation and the Olympic Training Site
Cindy Paavola, Assistant to the President for Strategic Initiatives

Academic Deans --

Lisa Eckert, Dean, College of Graduate Studies and ResearchCarol Johnson, Dean, College of Business
Joe Lubig, Interim Dean, College of Health Sciences and Professional Studies
Steve VandenAvond, Interim Dean, College of Technology and Occupational Sciences
Leslie Warren, Dean, Library and Instructional Support
Rob Winn, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Other Top Administrators --
Jill Compton, Director of Internal Audit and Risk Management
Gerri Daniels, Director of Admissions
Rhea Deaver, Director of Human Resources
Kristi Evans, News Director
Chris Greer, Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
TBA, Interim Associate Provost