NMU's Academic Senate

Northern Michigan University’s Academic Senate advises and makes recommendations to the vice president for Academic Affairs on matters of faculty-wide concern, communicates items of concern to their respective constituencies and informs the academic community of issues under consideration.

The Academic Senate consists of 39 senators who represent all academic schools and departments on campus as well as three student government representatives and NMU’s five deans. Along with the executive committee, it has 11 other committees that related to all aspects of the Northern academic experience. The vice president of Academic Affairs continues to serve as ex-officio members without voting power, as does the president of the AAUP faculty union.

All NMU faculty, staff and students are welcome to observe Senate meetings.