Image
art

April Bertucci

Principal Secretary

apbertuc@nmu.edu 906-227-2512
Office Location:

200A Gries Hall

Image
Art

Lara Clisch

Principal Secretary

lclisch@nmu.edu 906-227-2512
Office Location:

200A Gries Hall

Image
Smiling man

Chet DeFonso

Associate Professor

cdefonso@nmu.edu 906-227-2514
Office Location:

250 Gries Hall

Degrees:
  • A.B., Washington University
  • M.A., Ph.D., University of Illinois
Image
man in hat

Nick Dupras

Contingent Assistant Professor

ndupras@nmu.edu 906-227-2511
Office Location:

253 Gries Hall

Degrees:
  • B.S., Northern Michigan University
  • M.A., University of Leeds
  • Ph.D., University of Leeds
Image
Man in front of fire

Robert Goodrich

Professor

rgoodric@nmu.edu 906-227-2037
Office Location:

243 Gries Hall

Degrees:
  • B.A., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (1989)
  • M.A., University of Wisconsin-Madison (1994)
  • Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison (2020)
Image
Women in front of a wall

Kathryn Johnson

Contingent Instructor

kathryjo@nmu.edu 906-227-2512
Office Location:

246 Gries Hall

Degrees:
  • B.A., Texas A&M University
  • M.A., Northern Illinois University
  • Education Specialist, Northern Michigan University
Image
Man in purple shirt

Gabe Logan

Professor

glogan@nmu.edu 906-227-1744
Office Location:

148 Gries Hall

Degrees:
  • B.E., Missouri Southern State College
  • M.A. Northern Illinois University
  • Ph.D. Northern Illinois University
Image
Smiling Women

Rebecca Mead

Professor

rmead@nmu.edu 906-227-1365
Office Location:

244 Gries Hall

Degrees:
  • Ph.D., History, University of California, Los Angeles, 1999
  • M.A., History, San Francisco State University, 1991
  • B.S., Psychology, magna cum laude, University of New Mexico, 1978
Image
Man in red shirt

Alan Willis

Department Head and Professor

awillis@nmu.edu 906-227-1228
Office Location:

248 Gries Hall

Degrees:
  • B.A., M.A., Emory University
  • Ph.D., Syracuse University
Image
man in suite

Timothy O'Neill

Assistant Professor

toneill@nmu.edu 906-227-2586
Office Location:

254 Gries Hall

Image
man in fornt of grey backdrop

Russell M. Magnaghi

Professor of History Emeritus and Research Associate Center for UP Studies

rmagnagh@nmu.edu 906-361-7877
Office Location:

145 Gries Hall

Degrees:
  • B.A., University of San Francisco
  • M.A., St. Louis University
  • Ph.D., St. Louis University
Image
NMU Torch Logo

Howard Nicholson

Assistant Professor

hnichols@nmu.edu (906) 227-2586
Office Location:

248 Gries Hall

Degrees:
  • B.S., M.A., Ball State University
  • M.A., Indiana University
  • Ph.D., Miami University of Ohio
Image
Emily Romeo

Emily Romeo

Assistant Professor

eromeo@nmu.edu (906) 227-2028
Office Location:

252 Gries Hall

Degrees:
  • Ph.D., University of Chicago