John and Shirley Berry Annual Scholarship

The John and Shirley Berry Annual Scholarship provides support for incoming freshmen who have demonstrated academic ability and achievement.  Students chosen for this award will receive $20,000 over four years.

To be considered for this award, students must first be admitted to NMU's Honors Program. First preference will be given to students with a declared major in the College of Business; second preference will be given to students with a declared major in science, technology, engineering, or math; third preference will be given to all other declared majors.

To apply for this scholarship, students need to first pursue admission to the NMU Honors Program (Honors application); once admitted to the program, they should then submit a 250 word essay that focuses on the student's desire to pursue higher education. In the essay, simply explain your educational goals in both the short term and the long term. Qualifying students will be notified by the Honors Program Director, who will schedule a phone interview with Berry Scholarship finalists. Please note that financial need for this award is preferred, but not required.

Students must submit their FAFSA form by March 1, 2024; essays for the competition itself should be emailed to by 5:00 pm Eastern time on Friday, March 15, 2024. Note: We recognize that NMU may not have access to your FAFSA details by our 3/15 deadline. The Honors Program is working with our Financial Aid Office on the FAFSA status.  

*Harden Scholarship winners are not eligible for the Berry Scholarship.

Mary L. Campbell Scholarship

The Mary L. Campbell Scholarship is awarded to students with high academic ability and financial need. First-year students who apply to the Honors Program and who have completed the FAFSA by March 1 will be given first priority. 

Awards are $2,000 annually, and students may renew the award for four years. The number of scholarships will vary with the earnings of the Mary L. Campbell Endowment Fund.

No application required--students accepted to the Honors Program will automatically be considered for the Campbell Scholarship.

Mary Lincoln Campbell was appointed to the Board of Trustees by Gov. John Engler on Feb. 25, 1997 to a term that expired on Dec. 31, 2004.  She served on several board committees during her tenure, as vice chair of the board from Jan. 1, 2001 through Dec. 31, 2002, and as chair of the board from Jan. 1, 2003 through Dec. 31, 2004. 

As one of Northern’s top scholarship donors, she has generously supported the university through the Campbell Scholarship Fund in the NMU Foundation.  Established in 1998, the fund has grown and currently provides support to 15 to 30 honors students each year. 

Campbell is a general partner of the Enterprise Development Fund, an early stage venture capital fund located in Ann Arbor. She is the past president of the Board of Trustees for Greenhills School.  She has lectured at the University of Michigan's Graduate School of Business.  Campbell chairs the University of Michigan's School of Business Growth Fund Board and is an adviser to its Wolverine Fund, a venture fund she help found to support the educational mission of the school.

As a partner at EDF Ventures, she serves as a director of several of its portfolio companies, including: Aastrom Biosciences, a publicly-held cell therapy company; Pacific Biometrics, a developer of non-invasive medical diagnostics; Think & Do Software Inc., a developer and marketer of factory automation software; Origen Inc., an animal health company; and Centromine Inc., a Web-enabled enterprise software company.

Campbell received a bachelor's in education and a master's in business administration from the University of Michigan.  She also holds a master's in special education from Fairfield University.  She lives in Ann Arbor with her husband, Brian. The couple has a  daughter, Elizabeth.

Lundin Scholarship for Escanaba High School Graduates

The Lundin Scholarship is a $2500 scholarship, renewable for up to four years as long as the student maintains a minimum GPA of 3.50. This award is given to incoming students who have graduated from Escanaba High School, and who have also been admitted to the Honors Program. Among that group, some preference will be given to students considering a major in the sciences, as well as to those demonstrating financial need. Students must have submitted their Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) to be considered for this scholarship.

In order to apply for the Lundin Scholarship, the incoming student must first be accepted to the NMU Honors Program.