Faculty

Image
Randy portrait

Dr. Randy R. Appleton

Professor

rappleto@nmu.edu
Office Location:

2214 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.S., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • M.S., University of Kentucky.
  • Ph.D., University of Kentucky.
Image
Amy portrait

Dr. Amy E. Barnsley

Associate Professor

abarnsle@nmu.edu (906) 227-1608
Office Location:

2210 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.S., University of Alaska-Fairbanks
  • MAT, University of Alaska-Fairbanks
  • Ph.D., University of Alaska-Fairbanks
Image
Carol portrait

Dr. Carol J. Bell

Professor

cbell@nmu.edu (906) 227-1603
Office Location:

2212 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • M.S., University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana
  • Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Image
Jeffery Portrait

Dr. Jeffrey Horn

Associate Professor

jhorn@nmu.edu (906) 227-1607
Office Location:

2203 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.A., Cornell University of Ithaca, New York
  • M.S., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Image
Michael portrait

Dr. Michael R. Kowalczyk

Associate Professor

mkowalcz@nmu.edu (906) 227-1600
Office Location:

2222 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.S. Northern Michigan University
  • M.S., University of Wisconsin at Madison
  • M.A., University of Wisconsin at Madison
  • Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison
Image
Linda portrait

Dr. Linda B. Lawton

Associate Professor

llawton@nmu.edu
Office Location:

2206 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.M. Baylor University
  • M.S., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Image
JD portrait

Dr. J. D. Phillips

Department Head and Professor

jophilli@nmu.edu (906) 227-2020
Office Location:

2204 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.S., Briar Cliff College
  • Ph.D., Iowa State University
Image
Andrew portrait

Dr. Andrew A. Poe

Professor

apoe@nmu.edu (906) 227-1598
Office Location:

2230 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.A., Cornell University
  • M.S., University of Michigan
  • Ph.D., University of Michigan
Image
Dan portrait

Dr. Daniel Rowe

Assistant Professor

darowe@nmu.edu (906) 227-1594
Office Location:

2228 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • BMath, University of Waterloo
  • MSc., University of Toronto
  • Ph.D., University of Toronto
Image
John Portrait

John W. Sarkela

Instructor

jsarkela@nmu.edu
Office Location:

2224 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • A.B., Bowdoin College
  • M.S., University of Illinois at Champaign
Image
Hadi portrait

Dr. Hadi Shafei

Assistant Professor

hshafei@nmu.edu 906-227-1841
Office Location:

2217 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.S., Sharif University of Technology
  • M.Sc., Sharif University of Technology
  • Ph.D., University of Wyoming
Image
Josh portrait

Dr. Joshua J. Thompson

Assistant Professor

joshthom@nmu.edu (906) 227-1609
Office Location:

2226 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.A., Wofford College
  • M.A., Wake Forest University
  • Ph.D., University of Utah
Image
Bao portrait

Dr. Bao Q. Truong

Associate Professor

btruong@nmu.edu (906) 227-1610
Office Location:

2216 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.S. Ho Chi Minh City University of Natural Sciences
  • Ph.D. Wayne State University

Jennifer Vollenweider

Instructor

jvollenw@nmu.edu (906) 227-2353
Office Location:

2219 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.S., University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire
  • M.A., Northern Michigan University
Image
Zhang portrait

Dr. Qinghong Zhang

Professor

qzhang@nmu.edu (906) 227-1511
Office Location:

2218 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.S., Nanjing Normal University
  • M.S., Nankai University
  • Master of Computer Science, University of Iowa.
  • Ph.D., University of Iowa.
Image
Zhang portrait

Dr. Roxin Zhang

Professor

rzhang@nmu.edu (906) 227-1596
Office Location:

2208 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.A., Lanzhou University
  • Ph.D., University of Washington

Adjunct/Contingent Faculty

Steven H. Annelin

Contingent Instructor

sannelin@nmu.edu
Office Location:

2236 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.S., Northern Michigan University
  • M.S., Northern Michigan University

Richard A. Balding

Contingent Instructor

rbalding@nmu.edu
Office Location:

2225 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.S., Northern Michigan University
  • M.S., Northern Michigan University

Addie Goymerac

Contingent Instructor

agoymera@nmu.edu
Office Location:

2236 Jamrich Hall

Rosanne M. Parks

Contingent Instructor

rparks@nmu.edu (906) 227-1479
Office Location:

2213 Jamrich Hall

Degrees:
  • B.S., University of Detroit
  • M.Ed., Wayne State University
  • M.A., University of Detroit Mercy

Vanessa Taavola

Contingent Instructor

vtaavola@nmu.edu
Office Location:

2225 Jamrich Hall

Graduate Teaching Assistants

Andrea Clark

Graduate Teaching Assistant

aclark@nmu.edu (906) 227-2804
Office Location:

2232 Jamrich Hall

Erik Flinn

Graduate Teaching Assistant

eflinn@nmu.edu (906) 227-2804
Office Location:

2232 Jamrich Hall

Jason Haskell

Graduate Teaching Assistant

jhaskell@nmu.edu (906) 227-1153
Office Location:

2234 Jamrich Hall

Chad Leisenring

Graduate Teaching Assistant

cleisenr@nmu.edu (906) 227-2816
Office Location:

2235 Jamrich Hall

Andrew Middler

Graduate Teaching Assistant

amiddler@nmu.edu (906) 227-1111
Office Location:

2227 Jamrich Hall

Josiah Schmidt

Graduate Teaching Assistant

joschmid@nmu.edu (906) 227-2816
Office Location:

2235 Jamrich Hall

Ellie Soper

Graduate Teaching Assistant

atatrow@nmu.edu (906) 227-2816
Office Location:

2235 Jamrich Hall

Ron White

Graduate Teaching Assistant

rowhite@nmu.edu (906) 227-1154
Office Location:

2209 Jamrich Hall

Anthony Webb

Graduate Teaching Assistant

awebb@nmu.edu (906) 227-1153
Office Location:

2234 Jamrich Hall

Katie Ziebell

Graduate Teaching Assistant

kziebell@nmu.edu (906) 227-1111
Office Location:

2227 Jamrich Hall

Staff

Image
Jamrich hall in the winter

Mathematics and Computer Science

math_cs@nmu.edu (906) 227-2020
Fax:

(906) 227-2010

Office Location:

2200 Jamrich Hall

Katie Bennett

Principal Secretary

kmcgreah@nmu.edu (906) 227-2020
Office Location:

2200 Jamrich Hall

Image
Kristi portrait

Kristi Poupore

Department Administrator

kharvala@nmu.edu (906) 227-1589
Office Location:

2203 Jamrich Hall

Image
John Portrait

Dr. John O. Kiltinen

Professor

Degrees:
  • B.A., Northern Michigan University
  • Ph.D., Duke University

Retired: 2007