Each year, the NMU chapter of Sigma Xi contacts high schools in the Upper Peninsula and requests nominations for the Outstanding High School Teacher Award.  We have a tradition of awarding this honor to the highest-quality teachers and scholars in middle schools and high schools.

2019 Winners


Kathy Davis       Jennifer Pera

2019 award winners Kathy Davis (left, center) and Jennifer Pera (right, center) at the 2019 NMU Sigma-Xi event.

Past Outstanding Science Teacher Awardees

2019 Jennifer Pera

Kathy David

Adams Township School District

Roosevelt High School

2018 Natalie Messano Marquette Senior High School

Karen Bacula

Krista Squiers

Marquette Senior High School

Negaunee Middle School
2015 Sherri Holmgren Negaunee High School
2014 Award not given .

Jesse Kainulainen

Mary McKinney

Marquette Alternative High School

Bothwell Middle School

Helen Grossman

Clint Keikkila

Negaunee High School

Lake Linden–Hubbell Junior High
2011 Danica Pretto Hannahville Indian School
2010 Lorretta Cox Hannahville Indian School

Jeff Christianson

Linda Fleury

Iron Mountain High School

Powell Township Middle School

John G. Peterson

Frank Best

Big Bay de Noc High School

Menominee Catholic Central School

Mary Markham

Darrell Hendrickson

Chassell Township Schools

Washington Middle School
2006 Michael Benda Jeffers High School, Painesdale
2005 Kevin Kruger (H.S.)
Tim Barron (M.S.)
Westwood High School
Gladstone Middle School
2004 Rhonda Carey Iron Mountain High School
2003 Tim Keteri Jeffers High School, Painesdale
2002 Kathy Becker Gladstone High School
2001 Dale Moore Engadine High School
2000 Edwin Hill Luther L. Wright High School, Ironwood
1999 Mandy Frantti Munising High School
1998 Mary Harris Hannahville Indian School
1997 Steve Nyman Ishpeming High School
1996 Jeffrey Puckett Newberry High School
1995 Mary Knoch Rapid River Public Schools
1994 Ann Aho Superior Central School