2024 Celebration of Student Scholarship

Thursday, April 18th, 2024


View the recorded Live Stream, click here.

9:00 AM Opening Ceremony in Jamrich 1100

Greeting - Dr. Lisa Eckert – Dean, College of Graduate Studies and Research

Land Welcome - Dr. Martin Reinhardt

Event Schedule - Dr. Lisa Eckert

Opening Ceremony - 9 a.m.

Board Trustee Address by Brigitte LaPointe-Dunham, NMU Board Trustee

Faculty Address by Dr. April Lindala, School of Education, Leadership, and Public Service

Oral Presentations - 10 a.m. - 3:45 p.m. | Green Room (1311), 1322 & 1100

Green Room

  • 10:00 a.m. Paige Whaley, Senior, Environmental Science; Dr. Sarah Mittlefehldt – Sustainable Building Processes in Northern Climates 
  • 10:15 a.m. Delaney Miller, Junior, Earth Science; Isabel Oertel, Junior, Environmental Studies and Sustainability, Dr. Jessica Thompson – Composting at NMU
  • 10:30 a.m. Blake Broxson, Senior, Environmental Studies and Sustainability; James Krebs, Senior, Environmental Science; Ezra Dedenbach, Senior, Environmental Science; Dr. Sarah Mittlefehldt – Future of Woody Biofuels on NMU's Campus
  • 10:45 a.m. Mackenzie Geary, Senior, Social Media Design Management & Art History; Kolibri Drobish, Senior, Biology, Ecology Concentration; Dr. Ryan Stock – What is Divestment and what it means for NMU
  • 11:00 a.m. Mike Diefenbach, Graduate, Integrated Biosciences; Dr. Jill Leonard – Investigation of Lake Whitefish Egg Fertility and Health Across the Great Lakes

Lunch 12 p.m. - 1:45 p.m.

  • 2:00 p.m. Grace Listopad, Junior, Sustainable Business and Enterprise Creation; Dr. Jessica Thompson – Accessibility of Recycling on Campus
  • 2:15 p.m. Rylee LaLonde, Graduate, MIS; Dr. Malorie Albee – Tribal Relations & NAGPRA: Consciousness, Connectedness, and Cause
  • 2:30 p.m. Lola Rigano, Sophomore, Environmental Science and Natural Resources Concentration; Quinn Thibault, Senior; Dr. Jelili Adebiyi – Growing Sustainability: Insights from Bothwell Middle School's Garden Project
  • 2:45 p.m. Julia Lietz, Senior, Environmental Studies and Sustainability 
  • Madeline Shepard, Senior, Environmental Science; Dr. Jelili Adebiyi – Monocropping & Threatened Farmlands in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula
  • 3:00 p.m. Green Fund Projects Panel

Jamrich 1322

  • 10:15 a.m. Caden Natale, Junior, Sociology & Psychology; Dr. Yan Ciupak – Shattering Stigma, Fostering Feelings: Understanding Continuing Bonds in Suicide Grief for Mental Health Advocacy
  • 10:30 a.m. Margaret Lynch, Senior, Biochemistry; Lauren Dunn, Senior, Biochemistry; Dr. Robert Belton – Molecular modeling of homophilic interactions between recombinant basigin proteins
  • 10:45 a.m. Lindsey Locke, Junior, Spanish and International Studies; Dr. Timothy Compton – Navigating Peru's Water Crisis
  • 11:00 a.m. Julia Jacklin, Junior, Secondary English Education; Dr. Timothy Compton – How Korean Society and Policies are Affecting the Korean Birth Rate
  • 11:15 a.m. Hope Caspian, Senior, Theatre and Entertainment Arts; Paul Truckey – Why study the arts in the age of ai?

Lunch 12 p.m. - 1:45 p.m.

  • 2:00 p.m. Cora Siuda, Senior, Biology, Zoology Concentration; Dr. Kurt Galbreath – New Pika Tapeworm Samples from Mongolia Add Support for Their History of Two Intercontinental Colonizations and Reveal Previously Unknown Clades
  • 2:15 p.m. Zander Fontella, Senior, Environmental Studies & Sustainability + History Minor; Dr. Sarah Mittlefehldt – Filling Empty Lands, Hands, & Stomachs; Or, A Close Look at the Triumph of the 1893 Pingree Potato Patch Plan and its Implications for the Present.
  • 2:30 p.m. Dustin Goodman, Senior, Medicinal Plant Chemistry; Dr. Lesley Putman – Quantification of Cannabinoids and PFAS in Earlina Hemp Plants Treated with PFOS and PFOA
  • 2:45 p.m. Mary Kelly, Senior, Environmental Science and French; Dr. Matthew Van Grinsven – Use of Aerial LiDAR Survey to Support Restoration and Management Objectives for Mitigation Wetlands in Marquette, MI, USA

Jamrich 1100

  • 1:45 p.m. Rachel Martin, Sophomore, Theatre Technology and Design; David Pierce – Incorporating Pre-visualization into Lighting Design

Poster Presentations in Jamrich Main Lobbies - 10 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Lunch - 12 - 1:45 p.m. | Provided in JXJ 1311

Closing and Award Ceremony - 4 p.m. – Jamrich Auditorium 1100

Closing Statement - Dr. Lisa Eckert, Dean, College of Graduate Studies and Research

Recognition of Student Awards

  • Dr. Lisa Eckert, Dean acknowledges 2023-2024 Internal Award Recipients
  • Presentation of Student Technology Innovation Award 
  • Dr. Jes Thompson presents the Climate Challenge Award
  • Morgan Wells presents winning 3MT (Three Minute Thesis)

Annual Giving Day - First Lady Kristen Tessman

Provost Address - Dr. Anne Dahlman, Provost

Award Ceremony - Tesse Sayen, Director, Office of Sponsored Programs