NMU's Cybersecurity Industry Advisory Committee is composed of cybersecurity leaders from major corporations, cybersecurity product start-up companies, cybersecurity consulting firms, tech startups, economic developer advisers and more. The committee meets regularly with NMU to advise on matters of curriculum, internship pathways, industry trends, and partnership opportunities. The committee ensures that NMU stays at the forefront of cybersecurity education.

Industry Members

Robert Baer

President - Lasco Development Corporation

David Behen

Chief Client Success Officer - SensCy

Chris Bender

President - Northcross Group

Roger Blake

Public Sector Account Manager, Palo Alto Networks

Anthony Cavelieri

Cybersecurity and IT Analyst - Eagle Mine

Laura Clark

Chief Security Officer - State of Michigan

Donald Davy

Vice President, Information Technology, North America - BillerudKorsnäs

Keith Glendon

Founder - LucidCoast, LLC

Kenneth Hartman

Certified Instructor - SANS Institute

Scott Koski

Business Risk Advisor - VAST

Matt Landers

Security Engineer - OccamSec

Lee Marana

Manager of HIE & Informatics - U.P. Health Information Exchange | U.P. Health Care Solutions

Jeff Martin

Digital Forensic Examiner - Evidence Solutions, Inc.

David Mayne

Managed Security Business Specialist - Novcacoast

Meredith Miller

Research and Compliance Consultant - IBM

Anthony Mitchell

Cyber Defense Leader - Dow Chemical Company

David O’Connor

Cyber Security Strategist - Ford Motor Company

Evan Rice

Senior Vice President - Guide Star

Mattison Schuch

Incident Response - Ford Motor Company

Peter Sinclair

Lt. Col., Retired, U.S. Army Cyber Command

Glenn Stevens

Executive Director, MICHauto | V.P., Automotive & Mobility Initiatives

Detroit Regional Chamber of Commerce:

V.P., Automotive and Mobility Initiatives

Mike Stone

Senior Counsel - Warner, Norcross + Judd

Sarah Tennant

Strategic Advisor, Cyber Initiatives - Michigan Economic Development Corporation

Jennifer Tisdale


Barry West

Founder and CEO - West Wing Advisory Services, LLC

Ex Officio Members

Marty Fittante

CEO, InvestUP

Joe Thiel

CEO, Innovate Marquette SmartZone

Northern Michigan University Members

Brock Tesmman, Ph.D.


Dale Kapla

Provost and Vice President - Academic Affairs

Carol Johnson

Dean - College of Business

Steve VandenAvond, Ph.D.

Dean - College of Technology & Occupational Sciences

Stephanie Zadroga-Langlois

Director - Continuing Education and Workforce Development

Jim Marquardson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor - Information Assurance and Cyber Defense

Michael Sauer

Director - Upper Peninsula Cybersecurity Institute

Scott Little

Department Head and Professor of Military Science - NMU Army ROTC

David Nyberg