Academic Programs

NMU offers a variety of academic programs that include elements of environmental education as part of the core curriculum. Ranging across five different departments, there are twelve offered majors and thirteen offered minors. These programs, categorized by department, include:



Center for Native American Studies

Criminal Justice & Loss Prevention Management

Earth, Environmental & Geographical Sciences

Education, Leadership & Public Service

Health and Human Performance

Individually Created Programs (ICP)

  • Integrated Science Major
  • Minors: Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science or Physics

Technology and Occupational Sciences