The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

October 14-15 and 19-22
A Wildly Witty Musical Comedy
Book by Rachel Sheinkin, Music and Lyrics by William Finn
Conceived by Rebecca Feldman

Six spellers enter… one speller leaves! This effortlessly funny and touching show is a fast-paced crowd pleaser sure to charm audiences. An eclectic group of mid-pubescent students vie for the spelling championship of a lifetime while candidly disclosing hilarious and heartfelt stories from their home lives. As they spell their way through a series of (potentially made-up) words, they pray not to hear the soul-crushing “ding” of the bell that signals a spelling mistake. With a bouncy score and plenty of laughs, this feel-good show is a must-see.

NOTE: This production contains strong language and mild adult themes.

“The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee” is presented through special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI). All authorized performance materials are also supplied by MTI.

Friday, October 14th at 7:30pm - Opening Night Party
Saturday, October 15th at 1:00pm - THEATRE FOR ALL PERFORMANCE

Saturday, October 15th at 7:30pm
Wednesday, October 19th at 7:30pm
Thursday, October 20th at 7:30pm
Friday, October 21st at 7:30pm
Saturday, October 22nd at 7:30pm

Location: Forest Roberts Theatre

Tickets are $17 for General Public, $12 for NMU Faculty/Staff, Seniors, and Military, $10 for Students, and $5 for NMU Students.


Cast List


Helen Fortin as Rona Lisa Peretti/Olive’s Mom

John Thomson as Vice Principal Douglas Paunch/Olive’s Dad

Liam Fisher as Mitch Mahoney/ Schwartzy’s Dad Dan

Maya Moreau as Olive Ostrovsky

Quinn Skelly as William Morris Barfée

Kendyl Dahlstrom as Logainne SchwartzandGrubenierre

Lia Hielkema as Marcy Parks

Asa Naigus as Leaf Coneybear/Jesus

Michael Ahlstrom as Charlito “Chip” Tolentino/ Schwartzy’s Dad Carl

Madalyn Hasyn as a Swing

Phillip Smith as a Swing


Creative Team


Director Keli Crawford-Truckey
Music Director Sara Parks
Scenic Designer Lex van Blommestein
Lighting Designer Marla Alden
Properties Designer Keli Crawford-Truckey
Costume Designer Gianna Bratke
Production Stage Manager Sam Wardisiani
Sound Designer William Squires IV
Technical Director Ethan Noel-Rickert


† Indicates membership in Alpha Psi Omega, the National Theatre Honor Society.




Additional Artistic Staff


Assistant Stage Manager Bryson Krieger
Assistant Stage Manager Cyrus Cohen
Assistant Scenic Designer Cassie Bowler
Hair & Makeup Designer Erin Hope
Fall/Combat Coordinator Jimmy Ludwig
"Pas De Deux" Choreographer  Karina Johnson
Lightboard Operator Breeze Wojciechowski
Audio 1 Dane Krusick
Audio 2 Meara Kronsperger
Follow Spot Operator Samuel McKnight
Follow Spot Operator Emma Car
Pit Crew Laura Hinz
Pit Crew Maisie James
Fly Rail Operator Cyrus Cohen


† Indicates membership in Alpha Psi Omega, the National Theatre Honor Society.



Forest Roberts Theatre Professional Staff


Producer Bill Digneit
Director of Theatre and Dance Jill Grundstrom
Production Manager/Lighting Supervisor David Pierce
Technical Director/Scene Shop Supervisor Braeden Ingersoll
Marketing Office Manager Emily Burbey
Scenic/Paint Supervisor Lex van Blommestein 
Costume Shop Supervisor Ann Juidici
Master Carpenter Emily Kendall
Sound & Media Supervisor Dan Zini





Forest Roberts Theatre Staff


Assistant Scene Shop Supervisors Ethan Noel-Rickert
Scene Shop Technicians Tyler Crowley, Emily Iszler, Bryson Krieger, Noah Proctor†, Carl Swanson, Sam Wardisiani
Electrics Shop Crew Leader Marla Alden
Sound/Media Shop Crew Leader Ryan Harvey
Electrics/Sound Technicians Cassie Bowler, Erin Hope†, Dane Krusick, William Squires IV
Costume Shop Staff Gianna Bratke, Zephyrus Choberka, Rhiannyn McCauley, Aja Miller, Alistair Nehmeh, Susanne Shabazi, Elise Wilcox 
Marketing/Box Office Staff Tyler Crowley, Maddie Greenleaf, Keely Hanson, Erin Hope†, Bryson Krieger


† Indicates membership in Alpha Psi Omega, the National Theatre Honor Society.