Services

The Student Service Center is a convenient location for most everything a student needs in regard to administrative processes at NMU. Services available include:

  • drop/add classes
  • pick up/ drop-off student loan deferment forms and other financial aid documents
  • request verification of enrollment
  • register for classes
  • change address/name/marital status
  • request privacy restrictions
  • pay tuition, fees, and other charges
  • request transcripts
  • get answers to financial aid questions
  • review student account

Key Dates

Winter Semester 2022

First official day of classes                                       January 10, Monday

Martin Luther King Day observance—no classes    January 17, Monday

Midsemester recess begins at 5 p.m.                     February 26, Saturday

Classes resume                                                        March 7, Monday

Last day of classes                                                   April 23, Saturday

Examination period                                                  April 25-30, Mon-Sat

Commencement                                                      April 30, Saturday

Final grades due from faculty                                  May 3, Tuesday

 

Summer Semester 2022

First official day of classes                                       May 16, Monday

Memorial Day observance—no classes                   May 30, Monday

First official day of Session II classes                       June 27, Monday

Independence Day observance—no classes          July 4, Monday

Last day of classes                                                  August 6, Saturday

Final grades due from faculty                                 August 9, Tuesday

 

Fall Semester 2022

First official day of classes                                   August 29, Monday

Labor Day observance—no classes                    September 5, Monday

Thanksgiving recess begins at 5 p.m.                November 19, Saturday

Classes resume                                                   November 28, Monday

Last day of classes                                              December 10, Saturday

Examination period                                            December 12-17, Mon-Sat

Commencement                                                December 17, Saturday

Final grades due from faculty                            December 20, Tuesday 

Payment Plans

Northern Michigan University offers two payment plan options to assist students in paying tuition, fees, and housing charges by the required due dates: Easy Pay Plan and Deferral Payment Plan. 

FAFSA Deadline

March 1 is the suggested due date for the submission of the Free Application for Federal Student Aid. Even though there is no official deadline at the federal level to apply for aid, students applying for aid through the State of Michigan must submit their FAFSA by March 1 to remain eligible for state aid.

E-Bill

NMU does not send paper bills. Instead, bills can be viewed and paid electronically on E-Bill. Parents can access E-Bill after a student has granted them access as an authorized user. Choose a link to access E-Bill.

  • Current Students: via MyNMU
  • Former Students: via MyNMU
  • Parents: via E-Bill authorized user login

Contact Information

2201 C.B. Hedgcock

Main 906-227-1221

Fax 906-227-1331