Monday 24, 2011
            LANSING, MI – Governor Rick Snyder today announced he has appointed trustees to serve at Central Michigan University, Grand Valley State University and Northern Michigan University.

            “These individuals have proven themselves among the very best in their fields, and I have every confidence they will provide the leadership these universities need as we work to structure costs in a way that makes college affordable,” Snyder said.

            Bill Kanine and Dr. Patricia Maryland will serve on the Central Michigan University Board of Trustees. Kanine, of Petoskey, is a CMU graduate and a certified public accountant serving businesses throughout northern Michigan. Maryland, of Bloomfield Hills, is president and CEO of St. John Health Systems. She earned a Bachelor of Arts in applied mathematics from Alabama State University, a master of biostatistics from the University of California Berkley and a doctorate in public health from the University of Pittsburg.

            Joining the Grand Valley State University Board of Trustees are David Hooker and John Kennedy. Hooker, of Grand Rapids, is president and CEO of the Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park. He earned a Bachelor of Arts in economics from Kenyon College and a MBA from the University of Michigan. Kennedy, also of Grand Rapids, is CEO of AutoCam, a precision machinery company that serves the automotive and medical device industry. Kennedy earned his Bachelor of Arts from the University of Detroit Mercy and his MBA from the University of Michigan.

            Rounding out the appointments are Stephen Gulis, Jr. and Rick Popp, who will serve on the Northern Michigan University Board of Trustees. Gulis, of Rockford, is a certified public accountant who served as chief financial officer at Wolverine World Wide. Popp, of Northville, serves as director of employee benefits at Ford Motor Company. Both are NMU alumni: Gulis earned his Bachelor of Science degree in accounting and Popp earned both his undergraduate degree in computer science and graduate degree in public administration from the university.

            Trustees for all three schools are appointed to eight year terms and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.