NMU Board Approves AAUP Contract

Friday 21, 2012


            MARQUETTE, Mich.—The NMU Board of Trustees today approved a new three-year contract previously ratified by the American Association of University Professors. AAUP is the larger of two faculty bargaining units on campus and represents 382 members. The union vote was 226-29 in favor of the proposal.

After receiving no base wage increases the past two years, the new agreement includes a 2.45 percent increase in the first year, along with market adjustments intended to bring salaries in line with comparable faculty in their peer group. Base salaries would increase by 2.3 percent in both the second and third years, when faculty also will be eligible for a 0.25 percent bonus for each percentage point increase in enrollment.

The AAUP union will shift to a new health care plan that includes adjustments to co-pays and annual deductibles. The required health care contribution per member will increase each year of the contract, accounting for a 20 percent share of total health care costs on an annual basis.

In other action, the NMU board:

▪Approved a $108 million general fund operating budget for 2012-13, an increase of nearly $4.5 million, or 4.3 percent, from the previous year.

▪Approved a facilities five-year master plan request and received updates on the new academic building, biomass cogeneration plant construction and major facilities projects.

▪Agreed that the new academic building will retain the John X. Jamrich name.

▪Voted to rename the Jacobetti Center the Jacobetti Complex, effective Oct. 1.

▪Approved restructuring within Academic Affairs so that Admissions and Financial Aid will report directly to the Office of the President, with functional supervision provided by the provost.

▪Agreed to purchase a tower site being abandoned by the DNR in Negaunee Township at a cost not to exceed $20,000 to strengthen the university’s WiMAX signal in the area.

▪Accepted more than $58,000 in external grants and $12,000 in gifts, including a Baldwin grand piano.

▪Approved a resolution to charter Experiencia Preparatory Academy in urban southwestern Detroit, with an opening of September 2013. Experiencia was developed by a non-profit organization and will utilize education service provider CS Partners to support financial matters, human resources and curriculum. It will be located in a building formerly used by the Detroit Public Schools system. The emphasis will be on applied learning opportunities in the community through business and organizational partnerships.

▪Appointed the following board members for public school academies: Richard Aginian, Norman Bent, Heather Gardner, Norma Hernandez and Julianne Polgar for Experiencia Preparatory Academy; and Lorana Jinkerson for North Star Academy.

▪Participated in a focus discussion that outlined 10th day enrollment figures and emphasized the need to explore new enrollment initiatives.

▪Approved the following schedule of Thursday-Friday 2013 meeting dates: Feb. 14-15; May 2-3; July 1-12; Sept. 26-27; and Dec. 12-13.

▪Elected L. Garnet Lewis as chair of the board and Rick Popp as vice chair for the 2013 calendar year.

▪Recognized trustee emeriti Larry Inman and Douglas Roberts, whose terms expired in 2010.



Kristi Evans
News Director