The Occupational Safety Committee is charged to have regularly scheduled meetings for the purpose of supervisory involvement in safety matters and discussion of issues directly related to employee safety; i.e., accidents and near misses, new equipment and/or processes, safe or unsafe behaviors, recommend personal protective equipment, and safety initiatives. The Occupational Safety Committee will develop and review an employee safety suggestion program and participate in regular work site safety inspections. The Occupational Safety Committee shall become familiar with appropriate MIOSHA/OSHA rules, regulations, university safety policies and procedures, and participate in safety training for supervisory personnel. The Occupational Safety Committee, through the chair, will act as an advisory group to the University Safety Committee.

Occupational Safety Committee Members 2020-2021

Kim Hegmegge

Occupational Environmental Specialist, Safety Department

Matt Millin

Associate Director of Plant Operations

Kristen Bjorne

Director of Benefits, Human Resources

John Centko

Department Head, Technology and Occupational Sciences

Lee Gould

Fire Marshall, Safety Department

Steve LaBar

Architectural Specialist, Engineering and Planning

Pat Lakenen

Assistant Director of AV Operations

Jeff Mincheff

Deputy Chief/Clery Officer, Police Department

David Pierce

Assistant Professor, Technical Director, School of Music, Theatre and Dance

Andrew Smith

Supervisor, Grounds

David Wiegand

Supervisor, Building Services - Plant Operations

Cheryl Lajoye

Supervisor, Maintenance and Energy Management

Adam Shimun

Supervisor, Building Services - Plant Operations

Stephanie Penhale

Director, Telecom/Wireless Services

Travis Reamer

Supervisor, Building Services - Plant Operations

Alden Griffus

Executive Chef, Dining Services

Robert Winn

Dean, College of Arts and Sciences