Thursday 16, 2011
            MARQUETTE, Mich.—Sandra Imdieke, Northern Michigan University education professor, was recently appointed chair of the 2013 Caldecott Award Selection Committee.

The Caldecott Medal is presented annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. It was named in honor of the 19th century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott and is presented annually by the Association for Library Service to Children.

Imdieke and committee members will review the 2012 published picture books and announce the decision in January 2013. She will make the formal award presentation and give a speech at the annual conference and banquet.

             “I’ve served as a member of the Caldecott committee, so from personal experience I know that the year spent studying and evaluating picture books for children with other professionals from across the country is similar to a master class and a professional development opportunity like no other,” said Imdieke. “I hope the 14 members of my committee will leave the experience with a sense of pride in what we accomplish together, on behalf of children.”

              Imdieke also served on the Newberry Medal Selection Committee and as a regional coordinator and chair of the International Reading Association’s Teachers’ Choices Project.

She was the recipient of the 2005 Michigan’s Reading Association’s Teacher Education Award.