Monday 13, 2011
            MARQUETTE, Mich.—Northern Michigan University recently held a Leadership Recognition Banquet to honor student leaders and student organizations.

Individual award recipients were: A.J. Lara of Marquette, Spirit of Diversity award; Andrew Mills of Gwinn, Dr. Allan L. Niemi Scholarship; Courtney Brown of Bay City, was Michael D. Nunnally Individual Student Volunteer Award; and Vanessa Thibado of Marquette, ASNMU Outstanding Representative.

Faith Edwards, NMU nursing professor, was named Adviser of the Year for her role in guiding the Student Nurses Association.

            NMU has annually recognized student leaders, advisers and student groups for their contributions on campus for more than 20 years.