NMU Leadership Program Participants Announced

Wednesday 25, 2012

            MARQUETTE—The nationally recognized Student Leader Fellowship Program (SLFP) at Northern Michigan University has selected a group of new participants, who will begin membership with the fall 2012 semester.

            The SLFP, a two-year leadership program created at NMU, emphasizes the importance of both leadership development and helping community members in need. It includes a two-credit leadership theory course, workshops to build numerous skills, an overnight retreat, a year-long community service internship and a year-long mentoring relationship with a community leader.

            The students selected for the program and their majors are as follows:

            Michigan (cities listed alphabetically)

            Alpena: Samantha Forintos, elementary education language arts; Big Rapids: Elizabeth Klarecki, computer science; Brighton: Jack Gosselin, mechanical engineering; Lauren Larsen, communications; Cedarville: Jessica Duncan, social work; Clarkston: Rosemary Magidsohn, nursing; Taylor Tomei, elementary education; Detroit: Cherisse Johnson, education; Eastpointe: Peter Darga, sociology/philosophy; Fenton: Jessica Ulrich, biology; Grand Haven: Gretchen Spoelman, elementary education; Grand Rapids: Alicia DenHerder, pre-physical therapy; Steven Harwood, outdoor recreation and management; Kelsey Monks, Spanish/pre-physician assistant; Grass Lake: Vince Mottes, athletic training; Greenland: Shelby Guilbault, public relations; Houghton: Hannah Moran, music education; Hudsonville: Brittany Ridge, nursing; Iron River: Hannah Holma, elementary education; Lewiston: Amanda Cox, elementary education; Linden: Rachel Korman, hospitality management; Marquette: Savannah Mallo, English writing; Midland: Alexandra Kerlin, management of health and fitness; Milford: Kara Jacoboni, undeclared; Menominee: Anthony Wilson, secondary education; Negaunee: Jordan Paquet, biology; Newberry: Hannah Dake, pre-physical therapy; Newport: Alexander Perry, nursing/biology; Onsted: Lindsey Spooner, speech, language and hearing pathology; Ortonville: Katelyn Rogers, biology; Rapid River: Amber Froberg, nursing; Rochester Hills: Sarah Matles, secondary education social studies; Sandford: Jordyn David, illustration; St. Johns: Neil Poglese, pre-med/physiology; Taylor: Rachel McOwusu, international development; Traverse City: Kristine Bush, biology/physiology emphasis; Wayland: Trent Podskalan, electronic journalism; West Branch: Erin Powley, theatre.



            Arab: Patricia Larkin, undeclared



            Newark: Rebekah Curry, zoology



            Cary: Kara Lapminen, speech pathology; Kelsey Nordengren, special education; Chicago: Shavon Harris, international studies/French; Crete: Asia Giammarco, biology/physiology; Cody Hock, computer science/mathematics; Darien: Allison Bronsteader, zoology; Johnsburg: Troy Morris, psychology/behavior analysis; Mundelein: Arika Egan, physics/philosophy; Springfield: Danielle Morrison, grad school prep/psychology; Winthrop Harbor: Jackie Rodriguez, undeclared.



            St. Paul: Cheyenne Cecchini, athletic training; Woodbury: Jeremy Ostergaard, computer science


            North Dakota

            Fargo: Abigail Roche, undeclared


            New Jersey

            Woodstown: Chelsea Koziel, psychology



            Eau Claire: Meghan Marquardt, theater/English writing; Elroy: Chip Neuman, fisheries and wildlife management; Green Bay: Michael Lagerman, marketing; Oconto: Abigail Beekman, public relations; Stevens Point: Daniel Lee, criminal justice; Sun Prairie: Brittany Craighead, entertainment and sports promotion; Washburn: Cole Swiston, sports science (pre-med)


            West Virginia

            Harpers Ferry: Stephanie Kruse, biology/physiology

Mackenzie Myers
Student Writer