Honors Program Graduates Announced

Thursday 9, 2013


MARQUETTE— Northern Michigan University acknowledged 18 graduates from its Honors Program at the May 4 commencement ceremony. The program provides academically talented students with a series of specially designed courses and unique learning experiences that complement their undergraduate degrees, regardless of major. Participants also have the opportunity to engage in independent and collaborative research with NMU faculty members.

Graduates who complete four years in the Honors Program have the full honors designation printed on their official university transcripts.

            The students’ names, hometowns and majors are as follows:


            Atlanta: Mitchell Stephenson, sports science; Carson City: Jacob Leys, biology/microbiology; Cheboygan: Reannon Dykehouse, English graduate bound; Commerce Township: Samantha Hasek, environmental science; East Lansing: Chloe Apelgren, zoology; Hesperia:Elizabeth Eldridge, biochemistry; Iron Mountain: Megan Jastremski, sports science; Marquette: Julia Dehring, international studies/French; Bree Ebrecht, psychology; Midland: Lauren Smith, zoology ; Powers: Andrea Savord, psychology; Saranac: Amanda Sterzick,


            Mundelein: Ariel Egan, zoology


            Minneapolis: Rose Frankowski, political science/Spanish


            Hayward: Molly Burger, environmental science

            Madison: Havah Cohn-Mitchell, individualized studies

            Neenah: Pierce Huxtable, electronic journalism/theatre

            Onalaska: John Schimek, biology/philosophy

Mackenzie Myers
Student Writer