NMU Students Complete Leadership Program

Tuesday 7, 2013


            MARQUETTE, Mich.—Forty-six Northern Michigan University students were recently recognized for completing the Student Leader Fellowship Program (SLFP), a two-year, nationally recognized program that focuses on both leadership skill development and a commitment to community service. The program includes a two-credit leadership theory and practice course, a year-long mentoring relationship with a local community leader, an annual overnight fall retreat, frequent “Skill Builder” workshops and a year-long community service internship. 

NMU’s May 2013 SLFP graduates are listed by hometown (Michigan first), name and major:


Ann Arbor: Charlotte Cialek, Biochemistry; Caro: Aaron Bardwell, Biology/Physiology; Chassell: Anica Gillis, Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences; Dearborn: Julia McLean, Nursing; Detroit: Taylor Johnson, Public Relations; Ellsworth: Nick Cook, Biology; Escanaba: Ben Ayotte,Biology; Fair Haven: Melissa Esser, Psychology/Behavior Analysis; Fife Lake: Ferrin Bridson, International Studies; Gaylord: Roze Howard, Zoology; Germantown: Sara Pingel,Outdoor Recreation Leadership/Mgmt; Grand Rapids: Liza Sabin,Elementary Education; Olivia Steil,Art and Design and Language Arts/Elementary Ed; Greenville: Dawn Marsh, Environmental Science; Harrison Township: Ronnie Allen, Environmental Conservation; Hillsdale: Cassy Hastings, Physics; Ironwood: Alycia Heckathorn, Theatre and Entertainment Arts; Kewadin: Trista Osantoski, Biochemistry; Lake Leelanau: Alanna Toro,Individualized Studies; Lowell: Amanda Sterzick,Psychology/Behavior Analysis; Manistique: Joe DeLisle, Mathematics; Marquette: Emily Stulz,Multimedia Journalism; Taylor Tillotson,Social Studies/Secondary Ed; Tina Lavalley, Public Relations; Monroe: Shelbi Lisecki, Biology/Physiology; Montrose: Danielle Keeler, Athletic Training; Newberry: Brook Derusha, Biology/Physiology; Petoskey: Rachel Gruler, Nursing; Quincy: Bailey Pohl,Environmental Studies and Sustainability; Riverview: Katie Mara, English; Rockford: Raija McIntyre, Specical Education; Emily Yaklyvich,Clinical Laboratory Science; Waterford: Hayley Smith,Environmental Science; Woodland: Matt Flessner,Biology/Secondary Education;


Elk River: Kayli Ott, Biocehmistry; Minnesota Lake: Rita Woitas,English/Secondary Education; St. Michael: Emmy Johnson, Biology; St. Paul: Corinne Holmes, Social Work; Upsala: Andrew Piasecki, Marketing;


Clintonville: Cassi Pelky,Criminal Justice; Madison: Havah Cohn-Mitchell, Individualized Studies; Rhinelander: Jamie Burgan, Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences;



Homewood: Alex Nye, English/Writing; Oakland Hills: Sarah Cousineau, Exercise Science;


Homer: Katie Miller, Art and Design;

North Dakota

Fargo: Taylor Hager,Graphic Communications.


Kyle Lynch
Student Writer