AAUW Presents Griffiths Award

Monday 18, 2015

Melissa Zeglen of Marquette is the 2015 recipient of the Martha Griffiths Award presented by the American Association of University Women Marquette Branch. She received a certificate and check for $250. Given annually to a graduating senior at Northern Michigan University, the award is named in honor of one of Michigan’s most influential women legislators in the last half of the 20th century. Griffiths was known for her efforts related to the Civil Rights Act and for getting the Equal Rights Amendment to the House floor for a vote in 1970.

Zeglen graduated from NMU earlier this month with a double major in philosophy and political science. She was inducted into the Mortar Board National Honor Society and served as the secretary of NMU's Student Law Forum.  She also served as an off-campus representative for student government. Zeglen has given presentations on domestic violence and helped fundraising efforts for Lake Superior Village Youth. Originally from Virginia Beach, Va., Zeglen moved to Marquette from Iowa in 2011.  She plans to attend law school. 

Kristi Evans
News Director

Zeglen (left) with Krista Clumpner, AAUW university representative