NMU Parking Services is responsible for overseeing vehicle registration and enforcing parking violations.  

Parking Services, a unit of the NMU Police Department, is located in the Services Building on Sugarloaf Avenue (see campus parking map).  You can contact Parking Services in person from 8 a.m.- 4 p.m. (EST), by phone at (906) 227-1476 or by email parking@nmu.edu. 

Commonly Asked Questions

Students may bring cars and park them on campus. All vehicles must be registered and have an appropriate parking permit. 

There are fees associated with parking permits.

All of the lots on campus are designated. 

Visitors will need to register their vehicles through the Parking Portal on the Motor Vehicle Registration and Parking Fees page. Visitors will be required to create a guest account to obtain permits through the Portal. 

Yes, please contact the Housing office for more information.

Parking and Traffic Committee


The Parking and Traffic Committee will serve as the central clearinghouse for complaints (other than traffic violations), suggestions, and recommendations concerning both traffic and parking matters. This committee will review traffic flow patterns and parking needs and make such recommendations as are required to solve these concerns to the President's Council for review and action. In cooperation with the Police Department, this committee will review the parking code and traffic violations manual, motor vehicle registration fees, and the parking fine schedule on a regular basis and suggest changes and modifications as required.


Appointments to this committee will be for two-year terms for faculty, staff, and community representative members and one-year terms for student members. In establishment of the committee, three of the faculty/staff appointments were for one year and thereafter for two years, so that the terms are staggered. Ex-officio members need not be appointed as they are members by virtue of their position at Northern Michigan University. Members are recommended to the NMU President by the chair for appointment to the committee.