Purpose: To recognize the excellence in scholarship of Northern Michigan University faculty, the Office of Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, working with the Faculty Grants Subcommittee, announces the Excellence in Scholarship Award.


Eligibility: Faculty (including department heads) who are currently on full-time, continuing, or active status, and have been members of the Northern Michigan University faculty for at least three (3) years at the time of the award. Prior recipients may be nominated five (5) years after receiving this award.


Criteria: Applicants will be evaluated based on excellence in research, scholarship and creative activities. Examples by which the nominees will be evaluated include: research, scholarship and/or creative activities as demonstrated by the dissemination of new knowledge and/or the application/integration of knowledge, techniques, or modes of expression in books, professional journals or other publications; presentations at professional meetings, formal exhibitions, performances, and recitals that are subject to peer review and selection processes. Special consideration will be given to nominees who involve students in their research, scholarship and creative activities.


Nominations: Nominations for individuals or research teams may be made by any peer, department head/director, or student. Nominations must be accompanied by appropriate supporting documentation, including a current curriculum vitae, peer-reviewed published papers, books and jury-reviewed presentations. Completed nominations must be submitted to Claudia Mankee in the Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at cmankee@nmu.edu. EISA Nomination forms may be downloaded HERE.


Deadline: Completed nomination forms and all supporting documentation must be submitted by the announced deadline indicated on the nomination form to the Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. Deadlines vary yearly and will be announced via campus wide email. 


Selection: All nominations will be reviewed by a Selection Advisory Committee chaired by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs and composed of the Academic Deans along with two members of the Faculty Grants Committee.


Recognition: Recipients of the NMU Excellence in Scholarship Award will be recognized at the Celebration of Excellence in Teaching and Scholarship. Up to two recipients annually receive a cash award of $1,000.


Information: For further information contact Claudia Mankee in the Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at (906) 227-2922 or at cmankee@nmu.edu.