NMU Club Sports

The NMU Club Sport Program is the administrative body for all club sport teams that have been approved by NMU Recreational Sports. The Club Sport Program was created to bridge the gap that often exists between intramural sports and intercollegiate athletics. Each club is formed, developed, governed and led by the student membership of that club working in unison with the Rec Sports department staff. The key to the success of any club and the program overall is the interest, active involvement and dedicated leadership of the students who participate. Club Sports are guided by the rules and regulations governing all NMU students, as well as the guidelines established by the Recreational Sports department. All club sports participants must also follow the guidelines of the Club Sport Program Handbook.

Membership costs vary from team to team, as do the time and length of each club’s season. Some travel is required of team members, as club sports play teams at other universities. Most of the squads are open to all interested NMU students, although some of the teams have minimum skills requirements that must be met to participate and/or tryouts.

The availability of club sport team offerings changes each year based on student interest.

For Club Sport questions or information, contact the Rec Sports office at 906-227-2519.

For current club sport participants – to set up a meeting with the Club Sport Coordinator, please call the Rec Sports office at 906-227-2519.

In regards to Club Sport web pages or updating photographs, please contact the Rec Sports office at the number above.

Club Team Contacts

Alpine Skiing

Baseball

Crew (Co-Ed)

Steven Miller

crew@nmu.edu

Cross Country (Co-Ed)

Marlie Fowler | Manpreet Chandi

mfowler@nmu.edu mchandi@nmu.edu

Cycling

Zack McClure

zmcclure@nmu.edu

Figure Skating

Emily Helgren

ehelgren@nmu.edu

Hip Hop Dance Crew

Emily Elkins

eelkins@nmu.edu

Men's Ice Hockey

Jake Vandenberg

jvandenb@nmu.edu

Women's Ice Hockey

Izzy Oldani

ioldani@nmu.edu

Men's Lacrosse

Garrett Etengoff

getengof@nmu.edu

Nordic Ski

Siri Martin | Nathan Garwood

simartin@nmu.edu ngarwood@nmu.edu

Men's Rugby

Robert Brown

robebrow@nmu.edu

Women's Rugby

Rachel Placeway

wnmurugby@gmail.com

Sailing (Co-Ed)

Nicole Fassnacht | Sammy Volkmar

sailing@nmu.edu

Men's Soccer

Harrison Smith

harsmith@nmu.edu

Women's Soccer

Maria Paparella

mpaparel@nmu.edu

Women's Softball

Madi Baker | Tessa Cipriano

madibake@nmu.edu tciprian@nmu.edu

Ultimate Frisbee

Dana Kjeldgaard | Nick Herriff

dkjeldga@nmu.edu nherriff@nmu.edu

Men's Volleyball

Sam Smith

smithsam@nmu.edu

Women's Volleyball

Mackenzie Meyer | Hannah Smith

macmeyer@nmu.edu hannsmit@nmu.edu

Important Documents for Current Clubs

Important Telephone Numbers

Intercollegiate Athletics and Recreational Sports

  • Tricia Bush, Assoc. Director of Campus Recreation – Sport Club Coordinator,  227-1692
  • Carl Bammert, Associate Director – Facilities,  227-2465
  • Chris Busch, Facility Manager – Dome, 227-1270
  • Forrest Karr, Athletic Director, 227-1826
  • Stacy Busch, Secretary, 227-2519 

Emergency

  • NMU Public Safety Emergency, dial 911
  • Non-Emergency 227-2151